Come and See

In the words of one of the seminar presenters today – “Have you ever been so excited about something that you just had to share – like a two for one kind of sale at Nordstrom’s.  You want to tell everyone.”  I felt that way last night and this afternoon.

I am generally skeptical when people talk about things that they like or that has moved them.  Not that I don’t believe them – it is just I don’t have a framework to place their experience – because it is not my experience.

Last night I went to the encounters cafe (something that others have described to me, but I’d never experienced myself).  As I stepped into the room I begin to understand why others had been so excited about it.  As I walked into the encounters cafe I felt a peaceful, comfortable, holy atmosphere.  I could relax and have God conversations.  But you too may be skeptical about what I am describing – so I’ll just say come and see.

This afternoon another similar experience took place.  I attended the seminar on creating prayer rooms.  Then the presenters took us through the prayer room in the North Tower in rooms 580 and 581.  Again, I felt a peaceful holy atmosphere.  I dug in the box of sand and found a shiny pearl shaped ball.  I could feel my insides grumble with God hunger.  Come and see.

John records a similar experience:   “Come see a man who knew all about the things I did, who knows me inside and out. Do you think this could be the Messiah?” And they went out to see for themselves.  ‘We no longer believe just because of what you said; now we have heard for ourselves, and we know that this man really is the Savior of the world.’

Come and see for yourself.  Hear and participate in an experience with a Holy God.

Those of you in cyber space who can not be here I encourage you to read John 4.  Ask for a taste of the Living Water.

My prayer is that all of our hearts will burn with God hunger.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Come and See

  1. aamphd says:

    Carolyn, what were some of the stand out moments for you in the cafe and prayer rooms? I would love to hear how GOD may have satisfied your hunger in some experience or insight.

    I too am compelled by the John 4 passage. GOD is so artful in the questions He asks, drawing us further into conviction and then to compassion.

    What a delight to know that maybe in some small way IGNITION introduced you into a “see for yourself” experience of the living GOD. Share more of your stories, I love to hear your thoughts.

  2. Colleen says:

    Thanks for describing what you experienced there. I wish I had been able to go. I glimpsed a little bit of what you experienced there. I want to see for myself each day.

  3. aamphd says:

    Have you considered joining us for a GODencounters Conference?
    http://www.GODencounters.org

Leave a Reply

