Disturbed Comfort Zone

How is God disturbing you?

Do I dare share?

I’m a 9 to 5 kind of gal.  What I mean is I’m in bed by 9:00pm and my internal alarm wakes me up by 5:00am.

Not so since I arrived at the Adam’s Mark hotel.  Now I’m in bed by 12:00am and I wake up in the middle of the night unable to sleep.  My sleep, my comfort zone, is completely disturbed.

The first night I woke up in the middle of the night unable to go back to sleep.  I tossed this way and that, this way and that, this way and that.  You’d think I was sleeping on a boat or something.  My mind began to reflect on something that I was asked to do in the area of prayer . . . and as I reflected I began to think of God and His sanctuary on earth.  My heart felt like it was being wrung like a dish rag.  Though my thoughts were were a bit jumbled, my mind turned to God’s holiness.  During one of those – this way and that, this way and that, – my hand went to my cheek – it was wet with tears.  What was happening?

Friday night, in bed at 12:00am – awake and unable to sleep at 4:30am.  I decided to check out the prayer room.  As I made my way around the stations of the cross – my thoughts were – “I’ll do this quickly and then hopefully I’ll be tired enough to sleep the rest of the night”.  My heart nearly stood still at one of the stations – a reflection on Mary pouring the perfume on Jesus’ feet.  Was I willing to pour out my devotion to God regardless of what other’s thought?  Regardless of religious leader’s criticism’s?  At another station my heart just overflowed and the tears came as I realized that God loved bumbling, quiet, introverted me.  My quick way around the stations of the cross turned into a journey to the heart of God.

How is God disturbing you?  What is impacting you?

LISTEN

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Disturbed Comfort Zone

  1. aamphd says:

    As in the story of Samuel, I am so glad GOD was messing with your sleep.

    I am glad for Her reminder of the sanctuary, and your willingenss like Joseph to share your dream.

    I am glad that Jesus guided you along the stations of His cross, and like Christ, “very early in the morning” you had a GODencounter.

    I am glad that like Mary, your tears served as a sweet fragrance of worship, annointing/honoring the King.

    Thanks for your post it fills my heart with gladness.

  2. aamphd says:

    Carolyn and IGNITIONites,

    I came across a wonderfully candid blog at the encounters cafe.
    http://www.godencounters.org/cafe/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=165&Itemid=1

  3. carolynmacomber says:

    I read the blog. Thanks for sharing Allan – I needed to read it🙂 Convicting.

  4. aamphd says:

    So are you still disturbed? Has your disturbance changed or morphed since February? I would be interested to hear where you are.
    (Blogging to Carolyn, but also to others who read this comment.)

  5. carolynmacomber says:

    Hmmm. I am not waking up at all hours of the night – thank goodness.🙂

    I would like to report that I am completely at peace, but that would not be accurate or true. There are days of peace and days of disturbance – some God designed and some implemented by human means and some I wonder if the enemy is perched on my shoulder creating as much havoc as he can.

    Today, was a havoc day.

    How have I overall changed/been disturbed since Feb.? I am no longer afraid of implementing the FEAST. I believe and work towards a 24/7 encounter with God – sometimes there is that connection and other times I’m distracted.

  6. aamphd says:

    I believe that is a fair assessment for a real disciple. No doubt GODencounters has engendered in me a greater empathy for the original disciples. Humaness is messy. I am so glad for a gracious Savior, whose patience and persistence are abundant. I am also glad to be on the journey with fellow disciples, so that we can encourage each other on this wild adventure.

Leave a Reply

