Best Laid Plans

The conference has ended, and I’m awaiting the start of the young adult advisory meeting.

My fellow bloggers have told me they’ll do more blogging when they get home, offering their reflections, as they’ve been busy with seminars and the major presentations, and frustrated by the spotty wifi service of the Adam’s Mark hotel.

I had intended to do something innovative–live-blogging Matthew Gamble‘s seminar on “Preaching to the iPod Generation,” but (for the first time in six years of blogging, and despite saving my work repeatedly) I managed to delete the entire lengthy post when I hit “publish.”

So I’m starting over. In the future, I’ll stick to the tried and true method of drafting posts in Word and then inserting into WordPress.

The essence of Matthew’s talk was that preaching is essential. Preaching, and/or the preacher himself, is the main thing unchurched people mention as drawing them to the church. It was the main point given by college students in my own survey of what they look for in a church. 

Some of what he suggested goes against the conventional wisdom that sermons must be short, should be stories rather than sermons, because, it is said, young adults have MTV attention spans. Matthew didn’t directly address those specific points, but the overall tenor of the presentation is that those assumptions are myths with no foundation in reality.

How do you preach effectively to young adults? By preaching! Make it Biblical. Teach the Word. Be attuned to the Spirit and to the people. Be aware of the culture, and of what is happening in the congregation as you speak. Be authentic. Trust the Spirit of God. 

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Best Laid Plans

  1. Zane says:

    Hey Bill,

    It was good to finally meet you in person. I’m back home now and just put up my first post. Thanks for your patience!

  2. Bill says:

    Thanks, Zane! Glad you got home OK.

  3. aamphd says:

    Would love to hear your impressions of Matthew Gamble. And I promise not to alert him to your entry.

Leave a Reply

