Process

How do you keep the synergy going?  I have so many ideas and thoughts and feelings running rampant in my mind from ignition.  I feel like the energizer bunny.

Let me ask this question.  You ever feel touched by God at some event you went to and then two weeks later you try to remember what that felt like?

I know our faith is not supposed to be built on feelings, but it sure is nice🙂.

How do you keep the intimacy with God going?  I really want to know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Process

  1. Carolyn says:

    Ok, I’m going to comment on my own post🙂.

    I’m a closetted bookaholic. It is easy for me to put away a book in a weekend and be quite happy with myself.

    Monday I went to a Christian book sale and bought the book, Unlimiting God: Increasing your Capacity to Experience the Divine by Richard Blackaby.

    This morning after I had posted Process I went to have some devotional time and read a little from the above mentioned book.

    Here was some of what I read: “Have you grown satisfied with the present level of God’s activity in and through you? Or do you long for more?” Well, if that didn’t fit what I was trying to say in the blog above.

    Then later on the author writes: Spiritual growth is a process. You can’t skip any of the steps. Some things take time and prolonged effort. But there’s no reason to remain where you are. There’s so much God wants to reveal to you. There’s so much He wants to do through you. So wherever you are in your spiritual life, I encourage you to push on to the next level.”

    Let us push on to the next level and unlimit God in our lives.

  2. aamphd says:

    Inside of the cat/a/lyst that was distributed at IGNITION, you will find a listing of various titles we are recommending as pre and post reading.

    Speaking to your question about intimacy with GOD, I want to suggest a couple of titles found noted in the cat/a/lyst:

    “The Life You’ve Always Wanted” by John Ortberg
    “Experiencing God” by Henry Blackaby

    These two titles were intentionally included in the cat/a/lyst to help propel IGNITIONites into deeper devotion to Jesus.

    Knowing you are a bookaholic and have likely read those books, I would love to see your review of those titles and how relevant they are to your post.

  3. Carolyn Macomber says:

    Yes, Allan, I have read them both and currently (the day after I got back) I picked up another book by one of the authors that wrote Experiencing God —it is called Unlimiting God: Increasing your capacity to experience the Divine (Now I have 4 books in my bookcase by these authors).

    Experiencing God by Blackaby was an eye opener for me. It has been several years since I read it, but I remember one of the main themes of the book was joining God in what He is already doing/creating. So often I try to create my own opportunities to connect with Christ rather than watching/waiting/listening to see where He is already moving. For me the book Experiencing God was very powerful. They have a workbook along with the main book – but I’ve never been down that road with a small group. Experiencing God helped me to pay more attention to how God might already be working in my world.

    The Life You’ve Always Wanted by Ortberg was a lighter read for me than the Experiencing God book. I read this book for a class. It was good – but I don’t remember having as many light bulb moments while reading it. I think I remember one part of the book that encourages us to celebrate Christ. That was something that I needed at the time – guess I tend to be on the serious side and the book helped me to lighten up and see that celebration is a big part of spirituality. So if you want an easy read this would be a good book – it uses cadid stories to hit the point home.

  4. elisa says:

    i’ve had the idea of a ‘sacred space’ in my house for quite a while but after coming home from ignition i was re-inspired to follow through with more than just a ‘sacred chair’. i stopped by the local big-box store and found some crayons, color pencils, paper, and a heater (it’s cold in that room) to make my little corner a little more inviting. i spent sabbath in this space and not really having an agenda but spending time with God – actually praying through the sanctuary again – this time drawing it and writing my prayers. it was so nice and one of the ways that i am keeping the synergy going.

  5. carolynmacomber says:

    Elisa,
    Thank you for sharing this idea. I think I’ll have to evaluate where and how I have devotions.

Leave a Reply

