Day 2: I will lift my eyes

A worship song for your enjoyment:

Below is the acronym for FEAST with something to look at or do for each letter. At the end are the scripture texts that are listed. Feel free to look up http://www.biblegateway.com if you would like to read a different Bible version.

F=Fast from judging others (See how often judging others comes up into your mind today)

E=Encourage someone with an honest compliment

A=Admit times when you have been critical of other people

S=Scripture – Luke 6:37,38; Matthew 7:1-5

T=Trust that God will help you guard your tongue today (Ps. 39:1)

Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven. Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you. (Luke 6:37,38)NIV

Don’t pick on people, jump on their failures, criticize their faults— unless, of course, you want the same treatment. That critical spirit has a way of boomeranging. It’s easy to see a smudge on your neighbor’s face and be oblivious to the ugly sneer on your own. Do you have the nerve to say, ‘Let me wash your face for you,’ when your own face is distorted by contempt? It’s this whole traveling road-show mentality all over again, playing a holier-than-thou part instead of just living your part. Wipe that ugly sneer off your own face, and you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor. (Matthew 7:1-5; Message Bible)

I said, “I will watch my ways
and keep my tongue from sin;
I will put a muzzle on my mouth
as long as the wicked are in my presence.”
(Ps. 39:1; NIV)

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Day 2: I will lift my eyes

  1. deirdre says:

    Thank you Carolyn, for putting this together. I’ve been looking forward in the mornings to see what we will be doing next :O) Today I am @ work (in the hospital) and what perfect timing to work on this F.E.A.S.T. today. I’ve got my work cut out for me. But I am actually looking forward to it, to see what Daddy God has in store for me. To humble me. To Think Like Jesus….

  2. elisa says:

    Today was an interesting day and I was glad for the reminder of keeping my tongue in check. I spent the day with a few people from my local church in earnest prayer for our church community and also listening and seeking God’s will for us in that plan. In the midst of tears and laughter God showed up and brought encouragement and strength to those present. But after a wonderful time of prayer as I was driving home I was stopped at a stoplight and the people in the car next to me were talking loudly. When I looked over I instantly made assumptions and guesses (yes judging) what their story was. I was reminded though – of the “fast” for today and asked God to forgive my thoughts about people I will never meet. Continually surrendered and continually learning…

  3. carolynmacomber says:

    Today as I was praying through the FEAST I came to the admit part. I knew of one instance a couple of weeks ago where I had openly judged someone to another person. I thought ok – I know which instance I’ll confess for today and move on. I’m a fairly laid back person so I thought today will be easy. After my initial prayer I had to stop and linger at the Admit part – other instances of judging people came to mind and my quick stop turned into a thorough heart cleaning. God is good . . . I want a clean heart in which I can draw more intimately into His presence. I don’t want anything to stand as a barrier between God and I.

  4. aamphd says:

    It’s been a good discipline to be mindful of being judgemental, it’s one I will need to dedicate more days to. I found myself on the basketball court, at the Adventist Book Center, at a local cafe, even reading the newspaper — all spaces offering ample opportunity to be judgemental. I will admit that although my radar was up due to FEAST, my fast was not as successful as I would have liked. So with this admission, I ask for forgiveness, trusting GOD to guard more than my tounge, also my heart.

  5. aamphd says:

    Lord,
    What conviction came to me as I read the words, “[Allan’s] critical spirit has a way of boomeranging.” May my days not be consumed with the sneer of judgementalism. May I not be part of a the vicious throw cycle of sending out condemnation to others, only to have condemnation come back around and whack me upside the head/heart.

    Dear GOD, shape this day with Your forgiveness. Permit me to pour out Your forgiveness into my world, refreshing those around me with your compassion. May I exude a giving spirit…generous and lavish.

    Thank you for your admonitions Lord, let my steps into today be headed towards You. Amen.

  6. I am looking forward to the F.E.A.S.T. However, with an open mind, eyes, and heart, I still find myself spewing intolerable and unbearable hate. I am sure that my judgement comes from my own shortcomings. It is inconceivable to be an effective, understanding, and caring minister without following Luke 6:37-38 very carefully. For this I deserve no better fate than death. Yet, there is one who will stand in my place. Father, I thank you and humbly ask for your forgiveness. I am not worthy of a place at the table to feast with you.

    Father, I am guiliy. cleanse me and purge my soul of all that is detestable to you.

  7. I am thinking of judgment on a completely different level. I am here in Kampala, Uganda for two months and stick out like a very, very soar thumb. Bus and “boda-boda” (motorcycle) drivers are constantly vying for your attention. As you walk by peoples homes/huts they are frequently yelling out “muzunga” (slang term for a white person… like cracker, although I don’t take it offensively at all). Some parts of the city have such strong poverty it is overwhelming. The needs are beyond describable. Simple care at the hospital is not afforded and as a result people die that had they had treatment in the States they would’ve easily lived.

    The other day while walking through the slums people looked at me differently. No longer was I hearing the “muzunga” term being belted out, rather people watched in silence as I walked by. It became quite evident quickly that white people don’t walk through these parts of town. I felt convicted to look people in the eye to treat them with the dignity that they deserve as a human being. Deep down inside I wish that they only knew how much I wanted to be their friend; to share life together, to truly get to know one another, to trust one another. Could it be that their needs are the same as mine? I think so…

    Judge not.

  8. suzy wilbur says:

    WOW!! when i read this morning, i thought, “whew” fast from judging–that should be easy!! amazing how many seemingly benign conversations can lead to judgmental thoughts!! so i think i will need to continue this part of the fast for the whole 40 days!! all day i kept thinking of the “message” bible version of the matt. 7:1-5 text!!! “wipe that ugly sneer of your own face then you might be fit to offer a washcloth to your neighbor” haunting words!! transformative words. i’ve never considered myself a pious person but i think God directly challenged me to a place of transformation with those words today–so thank you!! the Admit part became quite easy after that and i enjoy the opportunity for affirmation and encouragement. so for me, the F S and T were my blessing/challenge today!! growth requires a little discomfort after all, right!!!

  9. Jody Washburn says:

    Today’s F.E.A.S.T. was so relevant for me…in a strange sort of way. Lately I’ve been plagued by thoughts of the many times I’ve failed God, failed my students, failed my family and friends. Sometimes it seems that Satan is determined to remind me so much of the failures and disappointments of the past that I will give up all together. Reflecting on the topic of judging, I realized that sometimes I can be distracted from serving God just by judging myself instead of allowing God to be the judge and leaving all of my life…past, present and future…in His hands. Lord, today I want to relinquish judgement to You…judgement of myself and of others. Help me leave it in Your hands and to keep my eyes continually focused on You and what You’re doing for us–Your people in my neighborhood and all over the world who are hungering after You.

  10. Jody,
    Thanks for sharing. I had a very similiar expereience all day today. God really spoke to my spirit all day about me and how I judge myself and at times make what I feel are failures such a huge issue, that it cripples me and takes away from what God is trying to do in my life. Me judging me, keeps me from seeing myself through God’s eyes.
    The Lord ended my night by blessing me sooooo powerfully, I literally had to satnd still and confess that He is Lord and thank Him for being my personal God and friend. In the midst of what I deemed to be a “disappointment” God supernaturally showed/reminded me of what He thinks of me and how much He loves me…
    Thus by receiving, excepting, and embracing God’s love…I am constrained from juding others…Even from feeling pity…God forgive me for any thoughts or actions that may caused offense to others and did not display your example of Christ’s love…Lord may you daily convict me of the Cross and your unconditional love and acceptance. Be glorified and highly lifted up for the world to see and experience.

  11. Renee says:

    Prone to wander, Lord I feel it, Prone to leave the God I love, Here’s my heart. O take and seal it; Seal it for thy courts above. The video was wonderful and a sweet and needed reminder that God longs to hear my voice .

    Was aware today to be open and not judge those that I have differing view points . While facilitating our book club tonight , there was one lady in particular who did not agree with the majority of the group. She has very strong opinions and often offends people with her words( although I don’t think she realizes it ) I was glad that tonight I was able to hear her and not judge.

  12. Lord, let me be humbled by your pardon for my evil ways. May your grace overflow in my life and wash over the judgmental spirit that can rear its ugly scowl. I wish for my countenance to reflect your radiance: your forgiveness, acceptance, and love.

  13. Suzy Wilbur says:

    I will be gratefully led through this feast again this year!! I pray God will continually remind me of the need to “guard my tongue”. I have been moved to make this very work part of my new year’s “resolution”

  14. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Thank you Lord for the message today. Help me to be humble and not to see other’s fault…Help me to grow each day to be closer to you.

  15. Something about this today… maybe it is the day… maybe it was the passages… but I simply feel compelled to repent.

    May Jesus lead me to the place where I am fit to offer my brother and sister a cloth of comfort and not condemnation.

    May the Spirit fill me that I won’t be double-minded.

  16. Alberto Mares says:

    I can’t remember where I read this, but I got to thinking about it after reading this… “If the eyes are the window to your soul, then the tongue is the loudspeaker of your heart…” Even the smallest hint of hate in your heart, will eventually come out in form of spoken words that will often offend, criticize of judge others. I have been guilty of this and wish I could’ve taken it back at that moment. Lord, help me to become more like you and that the words I use everyday are guided by the Holy Spirit and serve as a reflection of Your character as we try to invite many more to Your Table…

Leave a Reply

