Day 3: Emptied to be filled

F=(Fast) Refrain from being too busy today. Did you take time for God? Yourself? Family?

E=(Encourage) See how you can give someone a helping hand today.

A=Admit that you have been too busy to really seek God.

S=(Scriptures) Psalms 46:1-3, 10, 11

T=Trust that God will help you accomplish what you need to do today. He will help you prioritize and guard your time.

God is our refuge and strength,
always ready to help in times of trouble.
So we will not fear when earthquakes come
and the mountains crumble into the sea.
Let the oceans roar and foam.
Let the mountains tremble as the waters surge! (Ps. 46:1-3; NLT)

Be still, and know that I am God!
I will be honored by every nation.
I will be honored throughout the world.(Ps. 46:10; NLT)

The Lord of Heaven’s Armies is here among us;
the God of Israel is our fortress.(Ps. 46:11; NLT)

A worship song for your enjoyment:

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 3: Emptied to be filled

  1. aamphd says:

    Thank you for the reminder to return to sacred space
    http://www.adventistreview.org/article.php?id=410

    Lord, untangle my life from the rush and wrecked state that it is in. Refresh me with Your presence. RE-create a right spirit within me. You are the Creator of time, help me serve You as Master, not the clock. Create a cathedral in time for us, for my family, for my world. Amen.

  2. Carolyn says:

    Authenticity, I almost changed the FEAST for today. I knew that today was my busiest day of the whole week. How was I supposed to refrain from not being too busy today when my commitments started at 8:00am and won’t be done until 9:30pm or later. And it is all work related or commitments that are important to keep. Not every day is like this. Ok, real authenticity and confession time – I’ve struggled the last 5 days with making time for God.

    Oh, God help me to refocus my priorities. Help me to know that it is when I walk with You that I can truly work for you.

  3. suzydmd says:

    this is sooo important for the “martha” in me. . .makes me think of a quote from a course in miracles, “you think you have many problems, but really you have just one, and that is separation from God.” Lord i pray to mend that separation, to be “mary” today and sit at the feast with you!!!

  4. aamphd says:

    This FEAST would fall on a Friday, wouldn’t it! The Hades heavy day for all ministers! Lord God, slow me to a pace that allows me to be in rhythm with Your heart. There is a Sabbath blessing to be had, may I not lose out by simply flying by. Be honored by my life Lord God. Help me to go from busy to becoming. Amen.

  5. suzydmd says:

    it was nice to be fed today. . .interesting how many distractions found their way in, but i am settling into sabbath with renewed hope and gratitude. gratitude for a God who still embraces me even when it so often seems to be on “my” terms. something about His Word that can quiet even a frantic mind, “be still and know that I am God”. what engulfing grace in that knowing! my prayers for each of you/us as we seek to stay in that knowing more every day!!

  6. Father,

    As you have blessed my time with you today, I ask that you clear my mind of the uncertainty of tomorrow. I have been to busy for you. I confess. Help me to be tranquil and not self seeking. Be with me and blanket me with your love. Father, Forgive me for what I am and please see what I want to be for you!

  7. Jody Washburn says:

    I’m blessed…and wanted to share a song that spoke to my heart today. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-FribXzqHVE Praise God for never giving up on us…regardless how often we run from Him through our busyness.

  8. suzydmd says:

    jody, thank you for sharing the song

  9. Suzy Wilbur says:

    Thank you for always being there–when I finally find my way to YOU! You always show up! It’s up to me to notice! The “Martha” in me is still alive and well–praying again to be more like Mary. Thank You for allowing me to again participate in this FEAST! Be still and know!

  10. Lord,
    I admit it, I am going so fast that the scenery is just a blur. I am so obsessed with arrival to the next destination, that I have no appreciation for the journey. Help me to take in the trip: the places and spaces where You shine radiant. Hold me back, if even for just a few moments, to know You are GOD and how truly great You are. Amen.

  11. Marivic D. McFall says:

    I ask you Lord to help me to seek you first and not my own thinngs…Help me to give quality with you and stay close to you…Thank you oh God for reminding me to spend time to you every moment of my life. Please creat in me a clean heart oh God and renew my spirit for I am too fast to make decision without consulting you. Please help hold my hand as I walk each day that I may not fall into temptations. Forgive me oh Lord for all of my shortcomings…In Jesus name, Amen.

  12. Alberto Mares says:

    God, it still amazes me how much you put up with me despite my inattention towards you. I consistently have trouble putting you first and spending quality time with you but you are always there for me. In the times that I do put you first, things come easier & I feel blessed. Help me to seek you more and to allow my faith to be a fire that will never go out.

Leave a Reply

