Day 5: Commit Into Your Hands

F=Fast from eating a favorite food today

E=Encourage another person in their faith

A=Admit that eating, drinking, or acquiring things doesn’t bring one long-lasting joy

S=(Scripture) Matthew 13:22; Proverbs 23:17-21; 1 Tim. 6:10

T=Thank God that He is your refuge and strength

The-Sower

The seeds that fell among the thornbushes are also people who hear the message. But they start worrying about the needs of this life and are fooled by the desire to get rich. So the message gets choked out, and they never produce anything. (Matthew 13:22; CEV)

Don’t envy sinners,
but always continue to fear the Lord.
You will be rewarded for this;
your hope will not be disappointed.

My child, listen and be wise:
Keep your heart on the right course.
Do not carouse with drunkards
or feast with gluttons,
for they are on their way to poverty,
and too much sleep clothes them in rags.
(Prov.23:17-21; NLT)

The love of money causes all kinds of trouble. Some people want money so much that they have given up their faith and caused themselves a lot of pain. (1 Tim. 6:10; CEV)

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 5: Commit Into Your Hands

  1. Carolyn Macomber says:

    I wondered what to fast from today . . . I like too many foods🙂. Today, though I have decided that I am going to fast from desert and any type of processed sugar. That will be hard for me since I have a sweet tooth.

    Every time I have a craving for those types of foods today, I am going to pray for young adult’s and their faith journey. I am also going to pray for those who desire to create safe environments for young adult faith to grow in.

  2. Manny Vela says:

    I’ve been I’ll so I am thankful that God is my strength. Today I am going to be intentional about encouraging others in their faith, especially my loved ones whom I tend to neglect thinking they wouldn’t want to “hear it” from me.

    Thank you Jesus for your healing touch. Thank you Jesus for you encouragement to me in my faith walk. Help me Lord to produce for you!

  3. deirdre says:

    Eph 6:10-11:Be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.

    My family has been slammed from the wiles of the devil. We need reprieve. JC, help me see you. Bless us indeed…

  4. aamphd says:

    Dear GOD,
    Thank you for showing me your mighty strength through my wife Dee. She has faced the adversity of these post-IGNITION days with a composure that is straight out of your play book. Thank you for how you are forming me and shaping me through the witness you are placing in her life.

    Also, thank you for the refuge you create for me in her arms. May the security I feel in her embrace be a reminder of your love.

    Finally thank you for my daughter Alexa and how you are molding her character after your own. I admire her deeply and see ever more clearly that your admonition to be like a child is spot on. Thank you for her witness and the strength of her conviction.

    Today GOD I commit myself and my family into your hands.

  5. I seem to get so bogged down and overwhelmed with all da phunk in my life. Jesus, you taught us to pray, “Your Kingdom come, Your will be done” and yet all too often it seems that it is all about my kingdom and my world. As though the universe revolves around it.

    The ambiguity of the approaching months is overwhelming. In the uncertainty of it all it is easy to feel like escaping. At times I have found my mind meditating on negative “what if’s.” For that reason I am thankful for my accountability buddies. One of whom tonight was able to listen and provide such a strong word of encouragement and direction. For that I am thankful.

    Tonight coming home and reading this posting with the passages I am reminded that I should “not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34 “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” (Matthew 5:31-34 ESV).

    I seek your Kingdom, Lord Jesus, and Your righteousness. In so doing, I commit my life and our future in your hands.

  6. aamphd says:

    Dear GOD,
    Thank you so much for being a “soft place to land.” I feel attacked and road weary [And it’s only day five!], yet I know that a huge component of this feeling is my own worry and self-reliance.

    Although I will attribute to the Devil for his rightful due, don’t allow me to be my own stumbling block by using my free will to fret over stuff You remind me You have under control.

    Help me to be faithful to my role in Your garden. Let me spread seed, water, plow, whatever You desire me to do. But also allow the seed in “my own life,” find fertile soil, take root, sprout and blossom for Your glory. Amen.

    • aamphd says:

      Wouldn’t you know it. As sure as it is Day 5 and we’ve got our marching orders for today’s fast, guess what is in the freezer!?! ICE CREAM SANDWICHES!!! I love ice cream sandwiches! [There must be a hidden camera in the kitchen somewhere.] God make me strong!

  7. suzydmd says:

    Indeed! Day 5 and I am surrounded by dark chocolate!!–my favorite vice. But I’ve spent a lot of the day reflecting on the Admit. I’ve spent the better part of the last 10 years accumulating “things”, using any excuse to try the next 4 star, rich 5 course cuisine, and broadened my palate for too many fine wines. It most certainly does not bring happiness. In fact, the opposite–worry about the next “new” thing. Worry if my “things” are safe enough, impressive enough, not damaged or dirty. It’s brought far too many extra pounds and a pattern of unhealthy choices.
    The true happiness I’ve had during that same time has come from those beautiful gifts from God–the births of three children, the love of a husband, the fellowship of friends, the grace of the cross.
    I’m so grateful for this FEAST as it is allowing God to reveal his will for my path. And I’m most greatful that I can rely on His will and not my willpower

  8. Suzy Wilbur says:

    Matt 5:31-34!! Thank you Father, for all these passages! Thank you for continually reminding me–YOU are enough! I am encouraged at how you have been slowly helping me separate from the comfort I’ve found in my earthly things–but i see even more clearly how any attachment allows me to worry far too much! Thank you for your promises to provide all we NEED!! I will feast on these promises when I think of indulging in dessert today!! And I will look forward to encouraging someone in their spiritual journey!

  9. Busted! I was thinking of Blue Bell Cookies & Cream Ice Cream last night and this morning.

  10. Lord, I commit today into Your hands. Be my strength and refuge. Help me to allow first things to be first. May the soil of my heart be fertile ground for Your Word to grow. May my contentment be found in You and You alone. May people, places, and things have their righteous role in my life–shield me from idolatry. I’m committing today into Your hands. Amen.

  11. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Lord, I commit my life into your hands. Help me to listen to your still small voice. Thank you for the message today Lord, I especially pray that may you will heal my grandmather for she is ill and in bed on her old age. Bless my parents, brothers and sisters. Be with them oh Lord. Bless Ray & me for we’re not feeling well today. You are our great healer. Thank you for being so good to us for all the blessings.In Jesus name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

