Day 7: First Place in Your Heart

F=Fast from watching T.V., internet surfing, or listening to music/radio

E=(Encourage) Tell someone how much you appreciate their talents or gifts

A=Admit that you have used T.V., the computer, or music to take 1st place over God

S=(Scripture) Matthew 22:36-40; 1 John 5:20-21

T=Thank God and trust His Sovereignty

And we know that the Son of God has come, and he has given us understanding so that we can know the true God. And now we live in fellowship with the true God because we live in fellowship with his Son, Jesus Christ. He is the only true God, and he is eternal life. Dear children, keep away from anything that might take God’s place in your hearts. (1 John 5:20-21; New Living Translation)

One of their religion scholars spoke for them, posing a question they hoped would show him up: “Teacher, which command in God’s Law is the most important?” Jesus said, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence.’ This is the most important, the first on any list. But there is a second to set alongside it: ‘Love others as well as you love yourself.’ These two commands are pegs; everything in God’s Law and the Prophets hangs from them. (Matthew 22:36-40; Message Bible)

To You alone oh, God . . .

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 7: First Place in Your Heart

  1. aamphd says:

    Little did I know this blog would become a confessional.*

    I confess, that my use of the computer and TV and media in general have been vehicles for idolatry in my life. A well structured fast will afford me and my family some quality time instead of “Daddy being on the computer all the time.”

    Family and Father forgive me for this obstacle to our intimacy and relationship. Right my relationship with you and renew the right spirit within me.

    Thanks for the challenge and the reminder that even doing good with these tools can slip us into idolatry.

    *Speaking of which, I would highly recommend reading “Blue Like Jazz,” by Donald Miller.

  2. So when I first saw this I didn’t see the “or” between tv, internet, and radio. I gasped and thought there’s no way. I can certainly do without TV or the radio, but not the internet. After all I have to read the ignitionblog! (Am I good at justifying or what!?)

    Now that I am sitting here in my home office at 10:30p winding down from an all out day of meetings, conflicts, traffic, and a Bible study, I am shaking my head with amazement at what occurred earlier. You see for months I have been trying to disconnect my land line because all we do is use our mobile phones. It is a long story so to cut to the chase, yesterday I called again (for the third time) because the previous attemps didn’t seem to work. Then this morning after leaving the house my wife (who was home sick with the flu) called to tell me that the internet was down. Right when I got home I went to work trying to fix it and then it dawned on me. Even though they had told me that it would only be down for a few minutes on Monday when it was scheduled to be fixed, I was now learning that someone had turned it off early and that I would have to wait until Monday to have internet again!

    I was livid! Outraged! I work from home! I MUST HAVE INTERNET!

    And now this. Fast from internet… Anything but the internet… well that and my blackberry… but then again that has internet on it too.

    Jesus forgive me for my idolatry of time. amen

  3. Robert says:

    Media (tv, internet) makes us get disconnected from our neighbors and loved ones even if we used it as tools for the Lord’s work. I used to get in the morning to hear the news to be connected to the World but forgot to read the devotionals. What use is it there if I do not connect with my Father. The first thing we have to do if find ways to be more united to the Lord because first we have to help ourselves to help others and use our time more wisely

    I have been reading the blogs of these days of Feast and have to tell you it have help me a lot to change my view of things and reaffirm more my love towards Jesus.

    The Lord bless you All

  4. Here is a blog post that goes great along with this statement. It is by pastor mark driscoll of Mars Hill Church here in Seattle. He happens to have one of the fastest growing churches in N. America in one of the most unchurched cities of our nation.

    Here are his reflections about the idolatry of technology: http://www.theresurgence.com/md_blog_2007-10-16_cell_sin

  5. elisa says:

    matthew – does this mean you were surfing the internet?🙂 just kidding🙂

    i have to admit the challenges for me on these feast days are the “E” – encouraging part. I’m feeling motivated to seek out the best in people and ACTUALLY TELL THEM!! I find that I have mostly positive feelings towards everyone but I don’t often share those feelings!! It is helping me be more inentional about encouraging others and am actually finding myself encouraged randomly by other people as I go through my day. is that karma??

  6. aamphd says:

    Love GOD, Love People. Love GOD, Love People. So simple and elegant. Help me to live life fulfilling Your great commandment.

    I appreciate many talented people:

    • Thanks YG Worship Band for your exceptional ministry through music!
    • Thanks James Rodriguez for your creativity design.
    • Thanks Bob for your inspiration on the saxophone.
    • Thanks David Crowder and band for your ecclectic style.
    • Thanks Milton for you street art and authentic heart.
    • Thanks Don Miller for your gift of writing.

    What wonderful world of artistry and beauty! May GOD be glorified through the creativity He put in the heart of each of us!

  7. suzydmd says:

    This fast would fall during the winter olympics!! And in the middle of women’s figure skating! My hubby will be thrilled🙂. Seriously though, I think I regularly have allowed TV to fill the role of “idol”. When I add all the media, they cumulatively fill a huge part of my waking hours. I pray during this brief fast that God will lead me to a place of better balance. So that when I wake up, my first thought is of the opportunity I have to spend a few quiet minutes FEASTing with Him instead of worrying about lunches, coffee and my first patients.
    Lord I pray that you will use this day to bring me in better alignment with You. Also may I be of encouragement to others–mindful of the gifts and talents You have blessed them with. Thank you for the talents that have brought this FEAST to us.

  8. Take first place GOD. First place.

    • Not to say that I don’t stumble, but I am proud to share that since March 2008, GOD has helped me to put media in it’s rightful place, especially as it relates to my family time. Keep praying, as there is still refining GOD needs to do in me, but I am grateful that my wife and daughter see more of me than the before. Praise GOD.

  9. suzydmd says:

    Judging by the time in the day it is before I got to this FEAST–I think it’s safe to say I allowed other things to take first place–thx to pushing the snooze button this am! I choose that extra 10 or so min of sleep to starting my day connected to the Divine! I can safely say it wasn’t media that kept me away–but being a mom–still not to take precedence over Him!! I find it much easier to justify in my mind, “oh, this is sooo important for my kids” but in reality I’m teaching them He doesn’t take first place in my heart. How then can I hope for that for them!?! Thank you God for your gracious reminder to give you first place!!! I want my heart to make room for you first!

  10. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Media is good if it is being use for God’s glory…that is one of my favorite thing to do. but I am weak in some other aspect…being too busy in doing things first of my own things…like the attitude of Martha. I pray Lord that may you give me a heart like Mary that she desires to spend time with you at your feet.

    I want to praise God for the YG church for the gift of music that we enjoy…My husband loves it. I am now liking it too since I grew up in a conservative type of church services in my native country. God bless you you all for this kind of ministry. We love coming to Arlington Church. We are blessed!

  11. Alberto Mares says:

    I admit that I have let God slip to 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th or 10th place in my life and not having Him at the top has led me to making mistakes and bad choices… but no more!!! God, help me to put you 1st in everything I do, for I know my life will have much greater value by having you at the top. Allow me to fast from things that prevent me from making you No. 1 in my life and help me to reset my priorities…

Leave a Reply

