Good Friday, Better Sunday

What is “good” about Good Friday?  Granted it is the commemorative day that we celebrate Jesus dying on the cross for our sins, but if you were there that day, would you have called it good?

good-friday-desktop-background-hd-wallpapersI have just revisited the account of Jesus dying on the cross.  If I had been there that day I am not sure that I would have thought good of that day.  While I am sure that there would have been confusion in my head as to why this was happening, I am confident that my emotions would have gotten the best of me as I would have been devastated to see my best friend being crucified.  This would not have been a good day.  As a matter-a-fact, I would imagine that this would not have been a good weekend.  Sabbath would simply have not been the same without Jesus there.  The singing, the worship, the meal, the fellowship: all of it would have felt empty.

Then waking up Sunday morning the first thought on my mind is that Jesus is dead.  That empty feeling would have filled my stomach once more.  My appetite would  be gone as I could hardly eat breakfast.  All I can think about is that Jesus is dead.  Where there used to be light, now there is darkness.  Where there used to be life, now I feel like death.

I make my way out to his tomb to prepare his body further.  Upon arrival I find that He is not there and I am told by an angel that He is risen.  Suddenly I am mixed with an emotion of both excitement and confusion.  “Where could He be?!”  I turn to leave and I ask the gardner who is working on his crops if he has seen Jesus?  After some brief dialogue this gardner calls me by name and I realize that it is Jesus!  This day has become GREAT SUNDAY!

If you have seen Mel Gibson’s, The Passion you will remember the terrible scenes of Jesus being beaten, spit upon, and crucified. Many were horrified over how gruesome Jesus’ plot was portrayed, some even left unable to watch any more.  What bothered me the most was how little emphasis was given to the resurrection.  Why?  Because while Jesus’ sacrifice on Friday is something that I am thankful for every day, it is the resurrection that assures me that Jesus is alive and well today.  He has defeated death and the grave.  He is victorious over all of the sins on this planet.  He lives so that I too my have life and life more abundant.  This to me is GREAT NEWS!

I know that Ellen White makes the statement that, “It would be well to spend a thoughtful hour each day reviewing the life of Christ from the manger to Calvary. We should take it point by point and let the imagination vividly grasp each scene, especially the closing ones of His earthly life.”  While I see this as I too think that it would be well for us to spend one of the other 24 hours in the day praising God that He is alive and well today!

About matthewgamble

Founder/Speaker - Vagabondservant Int. Senior Consultant - Center for Creative Ministry Founder/Speaker - www.pureintegrity.org Blogger - www.matthewgamble.com
This entry was posted in IGNITION Easter. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Friday, Better Sunday

  1. carolynmacomber says:

    I have had a hard time this week thinking about / focusing on Jesus’ death.

    Some of the worship music video’s I’ve viewed this week have clips of the violence and beating’s before the cross. I’ve had a hard time watching them and most often stop the video and go look for a different one.

    So it has been hard for me to focus on the pain of the cross, the violence, the beatings, the . . . Somehow I thought I was dishonoring Him, because I couldn’t handle viewing and reading about the physical pain of the cross.

    Your post fit with how I was feeling. I, too, would like to take time at the empty tomb – celebrating the victory, the light, the “sting” that is no more. . .

    Thank you for your timely post.

  2. aamphd says:

    We’ve cleaned up the scene nicely, haven’t we?

    Would the actual experience of Jesus even qualify for NC-17? If we were to include the spiritual dimensions, the conspiracies that would not be captured on film, would I be even be able to fathom the suffering and humiliation.

    Lord, please forgive our tidy lives for sanitizing the reality of our evil and the explicit cross that You bore for us. I am so sorry.

  3. Chris says:

    Yeah it amazes me, how sanitized we have made it, and how indifferent we can become to it. I think that is one reason we can minimize our sin.

    In my blog today I was looking at Romans 3:23-25. Paul says God used the cross to show off His righteousness and love and that it had to be a most public spectacle. That’s an amazing thing to me. The depths He would reach out for me. Jesus’ conquering of the grave assures me, give me substance to my hope to be with Him for eternity.

    I think there is a danger for us in the Easter season as well as Christmas season about making this about us. It’s about Him and His Glory. This whole event, death burial and resurrection shines forth the glory of the King of the Universe. One day we will get to share in that glory all for His glory. WOW!

  4. Nick says:

    Thanks for posting. I try to go through Mt 27:24-54 daily to think about the sacrifice of Jesus and how it connects with other things Jesus is teaching me in worship. I think it is definitely essential to think about that empty tomb and to celebrate that all the more because it lets us know the sacrifice of Christ was more than another zealous martyr trying to rally the Jewish nation. He is King of kings and Lord of Lords, overcomer of the world and our complete hope.

Leave a Reply

