Day 24: Non-forgiveness keeps you in the struggle

forgiveness

F=Fast from unforgiveness/holding a grudge towards anyone who has betrayed your trust. When past incidences come to mind in which you were wronged, pray for the person that wronged you.

E=(Encourage) Do something nice for someone who betrayed you or your trust.

A=Admit to God any anger or bitterness towards anyone that has betrayed you or your trust.

S=(Scripture) Romans 2:1-4; Psalms 54:4-7

T=Trust God’s forgiveness for your sins

You may think you can condemn such people, but you are just as bad, and you have no excuse! When you say they are wicked and should be punished, you are condemning yourself, for you who judge others do these very same things. And we know that God, in his justice, will punish anyone who does such things. Since you judge others for doing these things, why do you think you can avoid God’s judgment when you do the same things? Don’t you see how wonderfully kind, tolerant, and patient God is with you? Does this mean nothing to you? Can’t you see that his kindness is intended to turn you from your sin? (Romans 2:1-4; New Living Translation)

When the Ziphites had gone to Saul and betrayed David.

But God is my helper.
The Lord keeps me alive!
May the evil plans of my enemies be turned against them.
Do as you promised and put an end to them.

I will sacrifice a voluntary offering to you;
I will praise your name, O Lord,
for it is good.
For you have rescued me from my troubles
and helped me to triumph over my enemies. (Psalms 54:4-7; New Living Translation)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 24: Non-forgiveness keeps you in the struggle

  1. aamphd says:

    Dear God,
    May the chains of bitterness and unforgiveness be shattered in my life. I do not wish to be imprisoned by ruminating about issues You have already dealt with. I do not wish to plea for justice You have already promised. I wish to be set free.

    Help me rely on You to be the righteous Judge of my foes, and the gracious Intercessor for my sins. May the healing salve of forgiveness forge a miracle in my heart and a mending of brokeness for the nations.

    Let today’s agenda be victory not vengence. Let today be about loyalty not betrayal. Liberate us with Your love oh GOD! Break the chains and set us loose in Your love!

    Amen.

  2. aamphd says:

    I need this just as much in 2010 as I did in 2008. Break the chains dear GOD that I keep forging. I wish to be set free!

  3. Suzy Wilbur says:

    Well–it occurs to me while I say “I forgive” I have reserved a special dark place in my heart full of resentment and anger that is never far from my grasp whenever I feel “re-injured” by these people. Amazing how quickly I recall their previous griefs in order to justify my “righteous indignation”– what an absolute joke! As the text clearly speaks, how can I judge them and expect to receive His kindness!! Thank you eternal Father that you don’t recall my sins so easily. May I truly forgive those I love and allow my heart to truly let go!! as far as the east is from the west–may Your light of forgiveness illuminate the darkest parts of my heart.

  4. Lord GOD,
    I so wish to self-vindicate and to sit on the high and mighty judgment seat. Yet I know that the bitterness that is forged by betrayal doesn’t find its remedy in my being judge and jury. Lord, help me to let GOD be GOD. You are the One and only righteous Judge. Let me rejoice not only in your rescue but also in your justice. Forgive me of my sin and return me into a right relationship with You. Amen.

  5. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Grant me O Lord to have the forgiving spirit. Let me free from the bondage of this sin. For you even forgave them those who crucify and betray you. You are my perfect example. Let me look at you always and not to see the weaknesses of my fellow human beings. Amen.

  6. suzydmd says:

    thank you, Father, for showing me what forgiveness really looks like. holding on to the past, just keeps me “stuck”. a favorite quote on forgiveness from marianne williamson, “Forgiveness is the choice to see people as they are now. When we’re mad at people, we’re focusing on something they said or did before this moment. By letting go of the past, we make room for miracles to replace our grievances.” Father, please continue to clean this part of my heart!

Leave a Reply

