Day 25: Forgiveness is creating a new future

F=Fast from angry thoughts towards another’s actions or words

E=Encourage a family member

A=(Admit) Choose to forgive any family member that has hurt you. Be specific as to the wrong they have done and make a choice to forgive it. This may be difficult – feel free to call on God’s power to help you.

S=(Scripture) Psalms 25:11; Psalms 79:8-9; Jer. 31:34

T=Trust God to deal with your emotions when you forgive.

For the good of Your name, O Lord, forgive my sin, even as big as it is. (Psalms 25:11; New Life Version)

Don’t blame us for the sins of our parents.
Hurry up and help us; we’re at the end of our rope.
You’re famous for helping; God, give us a break.
Your reputation is on the line.
Pull us out of this mess, forgive us our sins—
do what you’re famous for doing! (Psalms 79:8-9; Message Bible)

And they will not need to teach their neighbors, nor will they need to teach their relatives, saying, ‘You should know the Lord.’ For everyone, from the least to the greatest, will know me already,” says the Lord. “And I will forgive their wickedness, and I will never again remember their sins.” (Jer. 31:34; New Living Translation)

This song was written after the artist heard about Michael Berg forgiving those who had beheaded his son in Iraq. As the video begins you hear the story of Michael Berg’s forgiveness on the radio/tv in the background.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 25: Forgiveness is creating a new future

  1. aamphd says:

    May forgiveness be the clarion call to a new tomorrow for our generation. May we find Christ leading the Way to new life, offering a contrasting paradigm to bitterness and resentment.

    Give a new generation the courage to live in forgiveness and faith. May today pave the way to that Kingdom-sized future.

  2. suzydmd says:

    As promised–God is relentless in His persuit of me!! ALL of me!! I think this weeks purging of resentment and anger/grudges is so necessary for me to really live in His grace–I feel lighter. It apparently takes a lot of unnecessary energy to keep such a meticulous inventory of others “wrongs” to me. Thank you for Your mercy!! Give me the grace to let go of any harbored unforgiven “soul-eating” grudges. May others see Your grace in me.

  3. aamphd says:

    Lord I ask for forgiveness for the trespasses I have perpetuated on those I love and those who call me family. Acts of commission or omission, please forgive me and foster forgiveness in the hearts of those who have be hurt by me. I do not want to be an absentee father. I don’t wish to be a preoccupied spouse. Hedge ministry to the world, so that my ministry to my family may thrive. Please renew a right spirit within me. Amen.

  4. suzy wilbur says:

    “pull us out of this mess, forgive our sins. do what you’re famous for” Ps. 79:9 before we express our anger to others, it’s best to express it to God, he can handle it. thank you for continuing this “purging” of the resentment in my heart! let me be the kind of wife, mother, boss that shows God’s love, compassion and forgiveness. continue to “lighten” my load!!

  5. “You’re famous for helping; God, give us a break.”
    I need your help GOD in many places and spaces in my life. Spread Your fame by coming to my rescue! Amen.

  6. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Cleanse me O God and forgive me from my iniquities.
    Then I acknowledged my sin to you and did not cover up my iniquity.
    I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD.” And you forgave
    … the guilt of my sin. Psalm 32:5

Leave a Reply

