Day 26: Give yourself the gift of forgiveness

F=Fast from unforgiving thoughts towards other’s actions or words

E=(Encourage) Sometimes we forget that we need our own cup filled – so encourage yourself today by doing something that you enjoy.

A=Admit that you have been unable to forgive yourself because______________(You fill in the blank).

S=(Scripture) Psalms 19:12; Dan. 9:18-22; Hosea 14:2

T=Trust God’s forgiveness for you

Who can discern his errors?
Forgive my hidden faults. (Psalms 19:12; New International Version)

I went on praying and confessing my sin and the sin of my people, pleading with the Lord my God for Jerusalem, his holy mountain. As I was praying, Gabriel, whom I had seen in the earlier vision, came swiftly to me at the time of the evening sacrifice. He explained to me, “Daniel, I have come here to give you insight and understanding. The moment you began praying, a command was given. And now I am here to tell you what it was, for you are very precious to God. Listen carefully so that you can understand the meaning of your vision. (Daniel 9:20-23; New Living Translation)

Come back to the Lord
and say these words to him:
“Take away all our sin
and kindly receive us,
and we will keep the promises we made to you. (Hosea 14:2; New Century Version)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 26: Give yourself the gift of forgiveness

  1. aamphd says:

    Even the faults I hide from myself are not hidden from You,
    Lord, clear out my skeleton closet; Do a spring cleaning of my soul,
    Let Your redemption wash over me inside and out,

    The stench of my sin is rancid, let me not grow accustom to rotting flesh,
    Clean out the infection of sin,
    Heal my heart o’ GOD.
    Give me Your heart. Pump life into my being.
    Transplant today.

    Let today be a new day in honor of You.

  2. manny says:

    Lord, than you for forgiving me. it doesn’t matter who we are or what position we may hold. it doesn’t matter what we may do by our own means. there is absolute reinstatement into You by the death of Your Son and by NO OTHER WAY! we don’t have to earn Your forgiveness…because of what Jesus has done, You accept us…ME!

    thank you, Lord, that you save me and make me right for heaven. thank you, Lord, that Your forgiveness means that i am forgiven into a RECREATED relationship with You. thank you, Lord, that my heart is purified and i am brought into harmony with You. thank you, Lord, that You come to us/ME just as You did to Daniel and for letting me know that i am precious to You.

    Lord, my stench is made sweet by You. my brokenness is made whole by You. thank you for shepherding me, restoring my life, my soul, and for leading me in the path of righteousness!

  3. elisa says:

    sometimes forgiving ourselves is the hardest thing to do… we can forgive most people what they’ve done to us (with God’s help) but giving myself a break often seems like i’m letting myself off easy. i wonder why that is? does anyone else struggle with that?

    we also often forget to encourage and do favors for ourselves and then neglect our personal well-being. thank you for the reminder. what have you done for yourself lately? me? the other day i spent the whole morning at the book store with some friends! that was a treat! it’s also important to really value those little things we do – don’t rush!!

  4. carolynmacomber says:

    No, you are not alone in finding it hard to “give yourself a break”. Though it is sometimes hard to forgive others – I, too, find it much harder to forgive myself. I can beat myself up far better than anyone else can. For me – part of it may be a perfectionistic attitude, and at other times I lose sight of the value God has placed on me or the realization that He has completely wiped my slate clean – so then why do I keep bringing up things He has already forgiven?

    I think about the scripture that talks about Satan as being the “accuser of the brethren”. ——–Someone once differentiated for me the difference between a Holy Spirit thought and a satan insinuated accusation. God brings conviction . . . satan brings condemnation. Ever since then I’ve been able to weigh my thoughts a little better. God=conviction; satan=condemnation.

  5. randy says:

    wow, i think this has been tough on all christians at one point in their lives or another. i was raised always feeling like nothing was ever good enough. no matter how hard i tried to do the right thing, say the right thing, live the right way…it was always way short. i have always been my harshest critic (ask heather) and i learned that trait from dad and he from his. that attitude eventually became how i saw religion, Jesus, heaven, hell and salvation. nothing presented to me in Sabbath school, church school, from family etc., gave me a different view that i could see. i knew there was NO WAY!, i was ever going to make it so why try?! it was so frustrating trying to figure out the complexities of it all that i would throw my hands in the air and give up…randy = evil, was my only answer, besides the proof was all around me.

    while the fact that i’m evil is a true enough statement considering the sinner i am, but i later learned that Jesus still loved me for randy and that when i became His friend, and He my Saviour that it really didn’t matter that i wasn’t perfect…just that He was! this amazing concept was not instilled in me as a child/teen/young adult, but rather something i had to find on my own. i eventually applied this to my life and all the sins i struggle with daily. i don’t “try” to change anything about me, i let Him do it. i don’t carry guilt about the times i fail, i let Him do it. i don’t question my salvation when i have a complete meltdown and fall back on a favorite sin as a crutch instead of coming to Him first…i don’t do any of that anymore. i simply give it to Him and He carries it for me.

    when i stopped “trying” and started “relying” on Jesus to take my sins away in His time, His way, and His Grace, my life changed in an amazing way. no more whoa is poor little old sinner randy etc. i sin, He forgives, WE move on. it’s the most liberating thing i’ve ever experienced in my life. i pray simple. “Jesus show me what You want for me, not what i want, what You want. and when you send that message to me write it on a 2×4 and crack me upside the head with it so it’s so blatantly obvious that i can’t miss it…not even evil randy. quick, short, to the point…effective.

  6. suzydmd says:

    Today is three years since I lost my dad–a God warrior!! As I tearfully got in the car and turned on my sattelite radio, Casting Crowns was singing, “though my heart is torn, I will praise You in this storm”. Thank you, Father for those little smiles–now I can prepare my heart to focus on today’s work of forgiveness (of me!!)

  7. aamphd says:

    Suzy,
    Today I’ll be praying for your heart. When my grandmother passed, GOD sent me the Mercy Me’s song, “I Can Only Imagine.”

    May GOD give you added peace on this side of the storm.
    \o/
    allan

  8. suzydmd says:

    Allan,
    thank you! my aunt shared a beautiful thought–each of these years that passes brings us one year closer to heaven! a new way for me to think of march 18th. i am grateful for the gift of him as a father even if for a shorter time than i’d have liked. thanks for the song link also.

  9. May I graciously receive the gift of forgiveness, releasing any thought of justified self-loathing. I have freedom to see myself as a child of GOD, released from the accusations of the devil, by the grace and redemption of Christ Jesus. Thank you dear Lord for Your generosity to me. Amen.

  10. suzy wilbur says:

    perhaps, this work of forgiveness, the forgiveness of myself has been the hardest over the past year, since i first participated in this FEAST. i have found that i have held on to as much resentment of myself for past mistakes/choices as i have of others. and yet, looking back over the past year, i find i have let go of so much of that grudge holding toward others, somehow, not of myself. just last night, i had to tell myself–stop living in that past! God doesn’t keep me stuck there–i do that to myself! i am so grateful for the grace i know is there for me from you, Father; give me the courage to accept it for myself, wholly! may i walk in the light of that forgiveness and let go of that fear! amen.

  11. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Dear Lord please help me to give a room for you in my heart to have a forgiving spirit. take away the hatred in me…take away my evil thoughts and create in me a new heart. Renew me O Lord…Amen.

Leave a Reply

