Day 27: Do we need to forgive God?

WhyGod

F=Fast from unforgiveness or unforgiving thoughts towards God

E=(Encourage) Ask God who He wants you to encourage today and then listen in your heart (all day) to what He may impress upon you.

A=Admit to being angry with God over _____________________(You fill in the blank).

S=(Scripture) Isaiah 1:18; Heb. 4:14-16

T=Trust that God is BIG enough to understand your anger and/or hurt towards Him

God says, “Come. Sit down. Let’s argue this out.” (Isaiah 1:18; Message Bible) Some versions say, “Come let us reason together.”

Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need. (Heb. 4:14-16; Today’s New International Version)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 27: Do we need to forgive God?

  1. Zane says:

    Forgiving God…interesting thought!

    I read a piece this week on prayer. It compared two different types of prayer…”My name be glorified, my kingdom come, my will be done” vs. “Holy is Your name, Your kingdom come, Your will be done.” According to the author, we confuse the first type of prayer with the actual models of prayer found in the Bible…Samuel, Mary, Jesus, etc. These prayers model responding/not calling, listening and meditating/not talking, submitting/not demanding, etc.

    This, along with this post, made me ruminate on how much my disappointment with God lies with me praying the former type of prayer than the later!

  2. Michael Young says:

    In our lives a lot of times we feel we know what is best for us, and we feel there is only one way which we can be happy it is if God gives us what we want right away. I feel we are always told that God will provide and He will, but the answer is that He knows what is best for us in our lives. The contemporary christian group FFH has a song called worship in the waiting, check it out some time. The lyrics to this song were very inspiring to me. The challenge is always to worship in the waiting because the truth is that God sees something we don’t see which is the end of it all. Usually at the end of the waiting we see that there is something we have gained and we end up thanking God for teaching us something new in our waiting.

  3. elisa says:

    here is a link to the song that you mentioned: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rzEx2awO2Xs
    thank you for referencing – i was blessed by this song this morning. sometimes waiting is so hard but it must be an active, anticipitory waiting – like a long, cold, blustery winter – the flowers always follow.🙂

    “in the spring will come the rain
    and i will see what was gained
    in the waiting”

  4. aamphd says:

    “Let’s argue this out.” Wow what a concept. That really requires a level of relationship that can take some hard blows. I am ashamed of how small I have made GOD in my life. GOD indeed is big enough to handle my emotions about suffering, injustice, pain, and silence. Thank you for the confrontational post that blatantly claims GOD’s authority and ability to take what I’ve got to share. I also know from Isaiah that GOD can respond to all I would want to dish out.

  5. aamphd says:

    Dear God,
    Today I’m listening to my heart, to hear what You have to say. May I be still enough to hear You and know that You are GOD. Amen.

  6. Suzy Wilbur says:

    Wow! Anger toward God! Don’t know if I’ve ever been brave enough to admit that–I love the Isaiah text. Intersting way to think of “reasoning together”. Sure would be best if before I expressed my anger to to others I express it to God first–He can handle it!!! Thank you for Your promise of blessing in this new day!

  7. Lately GOD I’ve experienced “friendly fire.” And I just don’t understand the cannibalistic nature among us your children. I don’t like it, and in some ways I blame You for it. It’s such a poor witness, giving “Christians” a bad rep and ultimately You a bad name. Make it stop GOD. Help me to be gracious and discerning as these so called “do-gooders” defame and slander. GOD stand up for me please, even as my spiritual siblings have a field day on my name.

    “Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

    This is my time of need GOD. Pour out your mercy and grace. Amen.

  8. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Lord, please give ma faith like a mustard seed. In, so many times I see how unfair this world is and in many times I question where is God in this times…forgive me O Lord for I am just a filty rag and You are a pure and perfect God.

  9. suzydmd says:

    i know there have been many times in my life when i have uttered up a “why” to God. i do believe he’s big enough for my asking, but i also feel it may sadden him when i am angry toward him. i pray for a less arrogant heart, one that doesn’t pretend to “know the mind of God” one that accepts with grace, the circumstances that are causing me to ask why. may i offer encouragement to others instead of asking why!

Leave a Reply

