Day 28: Who gets the credit?

F=Fast from one meal today (Some people can not fast or should not because of low blood sugar – a suggestion would be to eat a light meal instead of fasting. A meal in which you leave the table a little hungry.)

E=Encourage a neighbor or co-worker

A=Admit that there have been times when you have been overly concerned about getting the credit you feel you deserve.

S=(Scripture) Philippians 2:3; Matt. 16:24; Proverbs 3:5-12

T=Thank God for a specific blessing He has given you

Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. (Philippians 2:3; New Living Translation)

Then Jesus spoke to his disciples. He said, “If anyone wants to follow me, he must say no to himself. He must pick up his cross and follow me. (Matt. 16:24; New International Reader’s Version)

Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
he’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all.
Run to God! Run from evil!
Your body will glow with health,
your very bones will vibrate with life!
Honor God with everything you own;
give him the first and the best.
Your barns will burst,
your wine vats will brim over.
But don’t, dear friend, resent God’s discipline;
don’t sulk under his loving correction.
It’s the child he loves that God corrects;
a father’s delight is behind all this. (Proverbs 3:5-12; Message Bible)

AcknowledgeGOD

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 28: Who gets the credit?

  1. aamphd says:

    Earlier this year I completed a faculty report process which demands your rigorous effort to identify everything you did to further your academic, professional, and service contributions. Every paper, presentation. Every class taught, every act of civil service. List all this and update your curriculum vitae to give accurate record so as to receive credit for your accomplishments.

    I suspect that higher education is not the only place where culture coerces us to crave credit. To need accolades. To feel entitled to acknowledgement.

    What a wonderful course correction today’s entry offers! What a powerful meditation for this day and for days to come. As with John, may it be with me…

    “May I decrease.”
    “May Jesus increase.”

  2. suzydmd says:

    Credit is something I used to almost crave. It’s amazing what an “acceptable” addiction it can be. Now I find pleasure in anonymous gifts. But I still need this reminder. Thank you, Father for giving the ultimate gift and yet not demanding credit.
    My favorite part of the scripture today, “don’t you know it all. Run to God . . . Don’t sulk under His loving correction”.

  3. aamphd says:

    “Think more of others.” It feels impossible. Image management is a full time job! Help me believe it’s what You think of me that matters most.

  4. aamphd says:

    GOD,
    I’m feeling the full attack on my humanity, fueled by the lies of the evil one. Please help me.

  5. Why is it as I come to this point on the FEAST, that I feel the brunt of the devil’s attack? This year again, GOD I am in desperate need of You to hold me together. To protect me from the sniper fire of the evil one. To insure the safety and peace of my family.

    “Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
    don’t try to figure out everything on your own.”

    Figure it all out for me dear Lord. I need Your help.
    Amen.

  6. Marivic D. McFall says:

    I thank you Lord for the message today. Help me to trust you without any doubts for your love is greater than my needs. Into your hands I gave myself to you. Amen.

  7. suzydmd says:

    I see my phone post didn’t make it up yesterday. I’ll try again. I so enjoyed the scriprtures today. So many promises–“listen to God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go; He’s the one who will keep you on track.”. “run from evil. Run to God. Your body will glow with health. Your very bones will vibrate with life.” and don’t sulk under His loving correction. I would like to specifically thank God for always providing for ALL my needs. And for giving me such a supportive life partner. May I be gracious on my journey with him, and not “keep score”

Leave a Reply

