Day 30: What is Your Lifesong?

This week will be a mixture of different topics. Only 10 more days left of the FEAST.

F=Fast from withdrawing from people to avoid rejection. Sometimes people withdraw to somehow “pay” someone back for their behavior. Instead of withdrawing choose to work things out.

E=Encourage someone you feel like withdrawing from.

A=Admit any jealousy/envy in your heart

S=(Scripture) Proverbs 14:30; Ecc. 4:4; James 3:13-18

T=Thank God for His blessings to you

A peaceful heart leads to a healthy body;
jealousy is like cancer in the bones. (Proverbs 14:30; New Living Translation)

I realized the reason people work hard and try to succeed: They are jealous of each other. This, too, is useless, like chasing the wind. (Ecc. 4:4; New Century Version)

Do you want to be counted wise, to build a reputation for wisdom? Here’s what you do: Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts. Mean-spirited ambition isn’t wisdom. Boasting that you are wise isn’t wisdom. Twisting the truth to make yourselves sound wise isn’t wisdom. It’s the furthest thing from wisdom—it’s animal cunning, devilish conniving. Whenever you’re trying to look better than others or get the better of others, things fall apart and everyone ends up at the others’ throats. Real wisdom, God’s wisdom, begins with a holy life and is characterized by getting along with others. It is gentle and reasonable, overflowing with mercy and blessings, not hot one day and cold the next, not two-faced. You can develop a healthy, robust community that lives right with God and enjoy its results only if you do the hard work of getting along with each other, treating each other with dignity and honor. (James 3:13-18; Message Bible)

A worship song by Casting Crowns called “Lifesong”;

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Day 30: What is Your Lifesong?

  1. carolynmacomber says:

    Yesterday, I witnessed a “lifesong”.

    I went to the memorial service of the mother of one of my good friends from church. The church was packed with standing room only. I knew the “mom” as a delightful petite woman who graciously stored all my frozen goods when the electricity went out in my home. She had always made it a point to ask me about my life when we visited at church. She was 85.

    She volunteered at the local public elementary school as an “adopt a grandparent” and read stories to the children. The public school elementary principal was there at the service to honor her.

    Her lifesong really did involve a lifesong – music. She could always be counted on to play the piano or organ for church (she played by ear) – and she LOVED music. She also enjoyed food and cooking and was always providing for those in need. Many times her music, love of food and providing for others was mentioned.

    So why do I post this? I guess I am reflecting on yesterday and my own “lifesong” – what would I be remembered for? How is God using me? By the packed church yesterday – I realized that a lifesong is most appreciated away from the limelight and in the dalies – the daiies of friends and family and neighbors and local community.

    I pray that my own “lifesong” will harmonize with His.

  2. aamphd says:

    Just the other day, Dee and I were having a heated conversation. You know the type where both parties keep stating their points without the other feeling heard. The frustration grows, and what was supposed to be a simple decision becomes a tense banter of counter-points.

    In the middle of this dinner table chat turned debate, Alexa sat eating and observing. Then she shared something.

    Our daughter, calmly pointed out something she learned at the National Young Scholars Program, she attended this summer. She said that sometimes it is good when people are not understanding each other, to get someone to mediate. Or if a mediator is not available, to just take a brief timeout so that both persons can get a better perspective.

    Alexa is 11 years old.

    In that moment, although I was still simmering, I was humbled. We did take a break and found agreement quicker after the timeout. Taking a moment was just what we needed.

    Both my wife and I learned something about GOD’s wisdom, “being gentle and reasonable,” from a young girl that day.

    My lifesong is so blessed through my daughter, Alexa. I thank GOD for the inspiration she is.

  3. aamphd says:

    “A peaceful heart leads to a healthy body; jealousy is like cancer in the bones.”

    Lord God, heal me body and soul. Allow me the peace beyond my understanding. Let me lifesong sing of You. Amen.

  4. suzydmd says:

    “Do you want to be counted wise . . . Live well, live wisely, live humbly. . .it’s the way you live, not the way you talk that counts. . .Gods wisdom. . . is characterized by getting along with others. It is gentle, reasonable, full of mercy and blessings.”. Talk about a lifesong!!!! What a beautiful thing to have said about one’s life. And with Him this is possible for ME!!
    Lord, I pray that you will make this my lifesong–may I live more humbly, with less envy, full of mercy.

  5. “Live well, live wisely, live humbly. It’s the way you live, not the way you talk, that counts.”

    May my living reflect Your wisdom GOD. May there be congruence between my words and my walk. Amen.

  6. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Being a part of the SULADS missionary is my Lifesong. I would like to share this story happened when I was there serving in the mission field.

    ONE MORE
    By:Daryl Famisaran, SULADS director
    Mountain View College, Philippines

    Would you care for one more baby? I asked my wife one
    morning. Baby?(surprised)What baby are you talking
    about? There is a baby in Lapangon Mission School who
    is just like our boys, an orphan. His mother died
    three days after, after giving birth to him. The
    father poisoned himself to join his wife. That is
    typical for MANOBOS who believe in “life in the other
    world.” shortly after death. The Chief of the village
    who is the grandfather of the baby so loved the boy
    that he planned to kill the innocent tyke with that
    belief that he will be united to his parents and live
    a happy family in that “other world”. Good enough the
    SULADS missionaries were able to convince the Chief
    that they will rush the baby to the hospital.He is so
    sick, dehydrated, mulnourished,skin and bones and
    covered with scabies just like our Shad when he was
    given to us by his father.
    My wife was silent for some time. I did not insist for
    an answer. I know that she is thinking deeply if she
    is really ready for a fifth boy. I can see her
    recalling back the days seven years ago when we
    started the SULADS program. When these four orphan
    boys were left to our care by the late chief of
    Migtulod Mission School. A situation that we can never
    say no and can`t close our door to provide home for
    them. I can still remember during the first year when
    these older boys who were used to wear rags, with
    nails so long and unwashed became her headache. They
    were fresh from the forest and they were used to climb
    any tree they can find. Reaching MVC, where faculty
    homes are separated by boundaries, these boys would
    climb any tree and harvest fruits.There was even one
    time when they were caught by the student guards
    swimming in the reservoir. We got embarrassed many
    times with these.One time we lost our patience and we
    decided to send them home to their village. That was
    the most trying moments of our lives as special
    parents to these special children. We too regretted
    later why we made that cruel move to send them home.
    We were relieved and glad too one day when these boys
    came to our door one early morning with their few
    belongings wrapped in a ball inside a plastic bag
    pleading. Please forgive us. We promise to be good
    this time. Please give us one more chance.
    It`s not a joke to stand as parents to these
    children.Not bone of our bones,niether flesh of our
    flesh. To train them to the ways that we want them to
    follow, but to undo the traits they have learned from
    their culture takes longer time than to teach them new
    ones. Their financial needs is a bigger challenge. To
    clothe them, feed them, and educate them.Thus, to be
    special parents to these special children requires
    committment, love, understanding and patience. Should
    we have not been patient with them, we could have been
    the next patients.
    Now considering this new baby Dave,another mouth to
    feed. With powdered infant milk so expensive these
    days. How can we ever make both ends meet? I can hear
    her questions from her wrinkled eyebrows.
    I`m busy. She said.You well knew that I`m out everyday
    for work. I don`t have time for another baby, she
    explained. I understand you darling,I hugged. I
    promise not to bother you with this new baby, I said.
    But in myself I was just thinking of Jesus of long ago
    in Bethlehem who was born in the lowliest situation,
    the poorest of the poor.In the place of the animals,
    in a stall on itchy brown hay. He was rejected. No
    inn keeper took him in. This Dave was born on a hard
    bamboo floor beside a dirty rag where a dog coils in
    the night. No midwife attended to them. Just him and
    his mother. Now the mother is gone and the father too.
    Dave has no parents to go home to, save his
    grandparents. But can I afford to see little Dave go
    home and join the dog and share a rag? Can I afford to
    see him fed by his grandmother mounching sweet potato
    flavored with betel nut and give it to little Dave
    when he needs milk only? I can see Baby Jesus on Dave.
    Lord, I prayed. Please touch my wife to open her heart
    for ONE MORE. “Darl,” do you want to just take a look
    at the baby? He`s just so cute. I convinced. Yes sure
    I`d love to. We visited little Dave in the hospital
    and her heart just melted. I want to keep little Dave
    she said as she wipes a tear away. Thank you LORD, I
    whispered.We took little Dave home. Now we can have
    baby Jesus in little Dave brighten our home.

    SULADS is an extension program of Mountain View College to send missionaries to the hinterland in Mindanao, Philippines.

  7. Michell says:

    When I remembered those time I can really say God is great and praise God. It’s almost 10 years now and the only remembrance of Dave is his skin and bones pictures. I still have a compilation of his pictures and I will never forgot those memories that we’re in Lapangon until Jesus comes.

  8. vergie says:

    I touched this story.

  9. Cristy Rowold says:

    I once held that baby boy 10 years ago but the memory never leaves me. Being a SULAD once makes me a SULAD forever in heart and mind. I always thanked God for that best experience in my life.

  10. Suzydmd says:

    These scriptures really spoke to me today, ALL of them. What is MY lifesong? May my life be less about what I say and more about what I do. Thank you God, for my precious family!

  11. Ruvelyn Sona says:

    This is such a touching story. Im so glad that I am a SULADS.

  12. Marivic Berdon says:

    The reflection of Christ character in my life, is the greatest song I’ve ever imparted to those around me. Serving others as Jesus did through various forms of missionary work, is the manifestation of His character within.
    Thanks God for the privileges of sharing Him.

  13. Dave is now in the second grade at Faith Elementary School of Mountain View College. He is such a hyper active boy sturdy, healthy and strong. I pray that someday soon he will go home to his home village in Lapangon to be a missionary back to his own people. Only then I can say that my role as a father to him in place of his biological father is blessed by the Heavens. My task is so important to guide and lead Dave into the right path to walk with Jesus so that like Moses he can be looked up to as a savior of his own people from the bondage of darkness of sin and of ignorance in the jungles of Langilan

Leave a Reply

