Day 31: Are You a Christian or a Christ-Follower?

F=Fast from “taking out frustrations on others” when irritations arise

E=Encourage a family member today

A=Admit to wanting to control how others act rather than developing your own sense of self-control

S=(Scripture) Psalms 4:3-5; Psalms 37:7-8

T=Thank God for developing self-control in you

Look at this: look
Who got picked by God!
He listens the split second I call to him.

Complain if you must, but don’t lash out.
Keep your mouth shut, and let your heart do the talking.
Build your case before God and wait for his verdict. (Psalms 4:3-5; Message Bible)

Wait and trust the Lord.
Don’t be upset when others get rich
or when someone else’s plans succeed.
Don’t get angry.
Don’t be upset; it only leads to trouble. (Psalms 37:7-8; New Century Version)

This is a parody on the macintosh / p.c. commercials, but with a “religious, Christian/Christ-follower” twist.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 31: Are You a Christian or a Christ-Follower?

  1. aamphd says:

    I am saddened at the tarnish the term “Christian” has received in the modern/postmodern era. Kinnaman and Lyons’ book unChristian gives an alarming account of how people outside of Christianity view Christians.

    I concur with their assessment that it is time to turn the tide of popular opinion, and today’s passages are a great reminder of how to accomplish this paradigm shift.

    As we aspire to share Christ with the world, may we be followers who let Christ’s heart speak through us. May new generations experience Jesus through the lives of His humble followers. Followers like me.

  2. Linda says:

    Did question made me think… am I a Christian or a Christ-follower? Or am I (we) perceived as unChristian by those watching us, as mentioned above by Allan Martin? To apply this question in a different way, am I a Seventh-day Adventist or am I an Adventist seven days? Jesus said that we should take His name, put His robe to cover ourselves. We cannot just stop being Christ’ follower when it does not suit the occasion. Although, unfortunately it does happen. Perhaps that is the reason we are perceived as unChristian, the biggest reason for this (as addressed in unChristian by Kinnaman & Lyon) that our lives don’t match our beliefs.

    So, if you’re reading this: I propose a challenge to myself and to you, to become Christ’s followers, 24/7, no matter what the circumstances. To stand for Jesus, no matter in whose company we are. If we stand for Jesus, He will stand for us! To be true disciples.

    Paul wrote, “But you are our letter… for everyone to read and understand it” (2 Corinthians 3:2). That as others see our lives, they will be pointed to Jesus.

    Blessings,
    Linda

  3. aamphd says:

    May my sense of GOD-tempered, self control give Him glory. May I be known as a disciple of Jesus. May gracefully affirm the success of others and not seduced into the comparison trap. May my life point to Jesus.

  4. suzydmd says:

    I really did laugh outloud when I read the “admit” trying to control how others act rather than develop my own sense of self control!! If I am honest, that probably more closely reflects my lifesong. Arrrgh! Thankfully after yesterday, I have begun to create a new lifesong!! All day I will think of this lesson and be grateful for the opportunity He gives me to be more Christ-like. And grateful for His promises to help me be more spirit/self controlled.

  5. “Wait and trust the Lord.” I’m asking Lord for you to help Dee and me. We’ve been waiting for over a year for your healing of Dee’s hip. It is agonizing to have gone for nearly 11 months without a good diagnosis. And just 2 weeks following a major hip surgery, we need more patience to make it through recovery. The pain for Dee makes it seem as if nothing was resolved by the surgery, and it is tough to see her battle with doubt and uncertainty. But we’re following You. So be the glorious GOD that You are. We trust you. Even when it is tough. Shine as we wait. Amen.

    • suzy wilbur says:

      allen, your lovely wife Dee and her recovery to wholeness have been in my prayers, as well as your ministry! may you both feel God’s arms around you and specifically a break in pain for her.

  6. suzy wilbur says:

    Fast from “taking frustrations out on others” although i’d like to claim more victory in this area, the truth is i still really struggle with this. i am still more likely to vent to others before God. and i am still struggling with the “trying to control how others act rather than developing your (my) own sense of self control. “Complain if you must, but don’t lash out. Keep your mouth shut and let your heart do the talking.” Psalms 4:3,4 May i strive to be seen as a Christ-follower!

  7. Marivic D. McFall says:

    We will have you in our prayers Pastor Allan and for Dee’s healing.

    1 John 2:4 (New International Version, ©2011)
    Whoever says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in that person.

    Help me Lord to reflect Christ-like character in me. Not just to claim as christian but to live with it. Amen.

Leave a Reply

