Day 33: Saving is all His idea.

F=Fast from thinking you are more humble/spiritual than others

E=Encourage your neighbor or another church member

A=Admit to God any gossip/slander or cheating that you have engaged in

S=(Scripture) Eph. 2:8-9; Rom. 11:6; 1 Peter 5:6-11

T=Trust God’s love and forgiveness towards you

Saving is all his idea, and all his work. All we do is trust him enough to let him do it. It’s God’s gift from start to finish! We don’t play the major role. If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing! No, we neither make nor save ourselves. God does both the making and saving. (Eph. 2:8-9; Message Bible)

And if he chose them by grace, it is not for the things they have done. If they could be made God’s people by what they did, God’s gift of grace would not really be a gift. (Romans 11:6; New Century Version)

So be content with who you are, and don’t put on airs. God’s strong hand is on you; he’ll promote you at the right time. Live carefree before God; he is most careful with you. (1 Peter 5:5-6; Message Bible) Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil. He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour. Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith. Remember that your Christian brothers and sistersall over the world are going through the same kind of suffering you are. In his kindness God called you to share in his eternal glory by means of Christ Jesus. So after you have suffered a little while, he will restore, support, and strengthen you, and he will place you on a firm foundation. All power to him forever! Amen. (1 Peter 5:7-11; New Living Translation)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 33: Saving is all His idea.

  1. aamphd says:

    What a glorious reality that salvation originates from GOD’s heart. He came up with it, initiated it, and fulfilled it with glorious success. I do not have to convince GOD of a plan to redeem me and peoplekind. It is His heart’s desire.

    May I humbly accept the gift. Salvation is a true gift. GOD open my spirit to be receptive. Not entitled. Not reluctant. Not suspicious.

    Thank you for coming up with a way to make me Yours.

  2. manny says:

    Lord, as I ran outside this morning and saw Your magnificent sunrise, I was reminded of Your power – Your creating/re-creating power. Like Paul, I can admit that I am wretched, but Lord, I can also grab hold of the gift that You shower me with! I trust the love You give me. I trust the forgiveness You grant me. Lord, I need your help! I don’t want to put on airs, but You know that I have done that plenty! I am weak, Lord. Help me stand firm against that lion of a devil. Thank you for calling me, a sinner. Oh, thank you for doing what You do – for doing what only You can do! Keep your strong hand on me, I pray.

  3. Javier says:

    Oh God thank you because from the foundation of the world you already had a plan! God thank you because salvation originated in YOU…because God if it were up to me at times in my life i probably would have not wanted to save some people…yet God even while on the cross your Son…Oh JESUS…said, “forgive them for they no not what they are doing.”

    Jesus was right, Lord many times in my sinful life i didn’t know what i was doing, but you came and showed me the way…Jesus glory and honor be to you forever and ever…for Salvation is from God, by God, and through God!!!Haleluyah!!!

  4. aamphd says:

    This one really stepped on my ego.

  5. suzydmd says:

    Saving is all His idea!!! how completely arrogant to think i could add something to the blood of Christ!! i don’t need to cheapen it, only accept it! glorious, glorious grace! thank you, God for your perfect plan. please remind me when i pretend to add to what you’ve already done!! and by all means, don’t allow me to feign myself more “devout” than another traveler on this path. “we neither make nor save ourselves”.

  6. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Thank you Lord for the plan of salvation…help me to be strong in faith. to have a faith like a mustard seed. Help me not to waver for the enemy is prowling always like a roaring lion. Help me to be watchful and stay alert. I need You O Lord to hold my hands always. Amen.

  7. Thank You GOD for your amazing idea! Thank you for the freedom it affords to simply trust in Your generosity. I love Your thoughtfulness, and am humbled by Your sacrifice. May my life honor Your work, start to finish. You are a great and glorious Savior! Amen.

  8. suzy wilbur says:

    “Saving is . . .all his work. . . We don’t play a major role. If we did, we’d probably go around bragging that we’d done the whole thing. . . God does the making and the saving.” Eph 2:8,9 What a relief! now i can get off my self-righteous high horse and let him do His thing!! When i read the fast, i chuckled, i just yesterday regarded someone “less spiritual”! what arrogance! And i have certainly engaged in my share of “gossip/slander or cheating” that the ADMIT part of this feast refers to. God, thank you for these reminders that i am completely unable to “save myself” even from myself. Thank you for your saving grace. May I regard others with the grace you regard me, and may my realization of that gift allow me to let the gossip etc. slip away from my life–as it serves no eternal purpose. Amen. impress upon me if there is someone in particular that needs my encouragement today!

Leave a Reply

