Day 34: Shine like the Stars

serpensstar_eso_c720.jpg

F=Fast from complaining and criticism

E=Encourage someone who has criticized or complained to you

A=Admit to any complaining or criticism towards others

S=(Scripture) Phil. 2:14-16; Lamentations 3:38-40

T=Thank God for loving you just as you are

Do everything without complaining or arguing, so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe as you hold out the word of life—in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing. (Phil. 2:14-16; New International Version)

Is it not from the mouth of the Most High that both good and bad come? Why should any living man complain about the punishment of his sins? Let us test and look over our ways, and return to the Lord. (Lamentations 3:38-40; New Life Version)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 34: Shine like the Stars

  1. aamphd says:

    I recently watched a CBS Sunday Morning show feature on a church that was holding a campaign asking people to abstain from complaining. These even had wristbands to note their commitment.

    Here’s a link for the an MSNBC feature on the “No Complaining Zone”
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17362505/

    Wow, what a great idea! I wish I would have thought of it! Oooops. Guess I will need to start my complaint campaign over again.

  2. carolynmacomber says:

    What a creative idea – “No Complaining Zone”. I know this is an area of work for me. I can easily rationalize away my words by saying, “I’m just sharing my opinion”. Ah, well. . .

  3. manny says:

    my wife recently pointed out (don’t wives have a knack for that?) that i was complaining a lot lately, being very critical. i igmored it at first, but i caught myself in the act. what i was complaing about was very trivial. at any rate, i’m thaknful that my wife pointed this out – i’m even more thankful that she loves me despite my faults! i’m also thankful to be reminded that God loves me just as i am.

    Lord, it is my prayer that you would forgive me for the words that often come out of my mouth, words that don’t build up, but tear down. Father, grant me patience and love.

  4. carolynmacomber says:

    Ok – I didn’t fast today . . . I gorged. I blew it. I became the complain queen – no the complain queen of queen’s.

    I have much to learn in this area. Thank you for the wake up call.

    Lord, change my heart oh, God, change me.

  5. Javier says:

    It’s our nature to complain…Adam started it on earth (we know the devil started it in heaven) and well we’ve been complaining ever since…sometimes (she might say often times:-) my wife will ask me to do something and i will…well complain…it’s my nature…i complain about to much reading for class…complain about assignments that seem dumb…i complain it’s my nature…hmmm well i guess i better ask myself…maybe it’s time I realize that Christ has give me the power to overcome this nature just listen to what Peter says,

    “His diving power has given us everything we need for life and godliness throug our knowledge of him who called us by his own glory and goodness. Through these he has given us his very great and precious promises, so that through them you may participate in the DIVINE NATURE and escape the corruption in the world caused by evil desires.” (2 Pet. 1:3,4)

    Ahh…praise be to Jesus that through HIM he has given my everything to overcome this natural tendency to well…complain…God help me!!!

  6. aamphd says:

    Lord may I shine like the stars, trusting in Your infinite wisdom. Let my course be free from criticism, full of praise.

  7. suzydmd says:

    this “shine like the stars” has special meaning to me. i grew up with a dad who had an infinite thirst for astronomy. many nights my dad would point out constellations, his favorite, orion–of course. i took my children friday night to the school’s star gazing party. “the heavens declare the glory of God” they loved it. we saw orion’s nebula, saturn and 5 of its 61 moons, sirius, mars and venus all thru some powerful telescopes. what a vast universe our creator made–and he cares what i’m doing, how i shine! it matters to Him that i shine, without complaining–so i can point others to Him. point my family to Him. what an amazing example for my three children if i would do “everything without complaining or arguing”. may i shine like the stars in this way, Father of this vast universe!!

  8. Today Lord GOD, make me peculiar. As I experience the brunt of evil plots against You, as the devil takes notice of the side to which I have vowed allegiance, may I be filled with words of hope, compassion, and encouragement. May the world think it strange that vengeance is not my mother tongue. May people be caught off guard by Christ shining out of me instead of my own self-defense and efforts to vindicate myself. Today Lord GOD, make me peculiar. Make me to be more like You. Amen.

  9. Marivic D. McFall says:

    I praise you Lord for the privilege of serving you…I would like to share this story again from the SULADS missionary work in the Philippines.
    This touched my heart and made me to volunteer there in one of the mission schools.
    21 January 2001, Daryl Famisaran wrote:

    SHAD STARTS TO SHINE
    By: Sarah A. Famisaran
    Migtulod Mission School

    SHAD turned 6 last September. It has been 6 years
    now since this baby was brought to our home by his
    very own(chief/datu) father.We had a lot of Shad`s
    story 6 years ago when the SULADS program was revived.
    We did not send stories through e-mail then and i`m
    sure most of you have not heard of this yet. Let me
    give you the background.
    Shad`s mother died of diarrhea when he was still 4
    mos. old.He was left to the care of his maternal
    grandmother. His father, the chief (datu) of Migtulod
    villagewas opposed by his people for letting the
    SULADS missionaries come to their village. He stressed
    that he is for the education of his people and
    especially for his own children.”If you don`t want
    your children to be educated, i won`t force you. But i
    am for the welfare and bright future of my children.”
    He scolded one day.
    Little Shad`s quackdoctor grandmother took care of
    him. She killed a white chicken and a pig and offered
    them to the spirits to drive away bad luck that might
    harm the baby. The father chief tried to get the baby
    from his mother-in-law but she won`t give the boy
    away.
    We have had a friendly tie with the chief when we
    opened Migtulod for the SULADS work. He knew also that
    we had no baby for the long 10 yrs. of our
    marriage.With this thought, he stole the baby from the
    house of the grandmother and hiked the 2hr. mountinous
    trail to Mountain View College. He went straight to
    MVC Elem. School where we lived. I was not at home
    when the chief arrived with the baby, niether my
    husband. When i reached home, the chief was standing
    there waiting for me. The baby was wrapped in a dirty
    blanket hanging from from the chief`s neck. The 4
    month old baby was covered with scabies all over from
    the crown of his head to the soles of his feet. His
    eyes were sunken, skin wrinkled. His two big eyes were
    looking straight at mine with the message,”PLEASE get
    me! I badly need a mommy.” Lord, I whispered. Would
    you really want me to take this baby? I can`t hold my
    tears any longer.
    At first i was hesitant to hold the baby. I was
    afraid it might break to pieces for he was just skin
    and bones. The unwashed blanket was itchy and smelled
    awful. But the eyes kept saying “PLEASE get me,i need a
    mommy! When he was in my arms finally, he cried a cry
    of relief and i felt he wanted milk from my breast. My
    heart broke. My tears just kept coming. The chief was
    crying too.And he said,”my boy, you are now in good
    hands. Your tomorrow will be bright here.” And looking
    straight to me he said Ma`am, he is yours to keep.He
    is your son! And he turned away crying.
    In a week that followed, the chief came to visit for
    3 times with his eldest boy. It gripped my heart to
    see them in a happy moment of reunion with the chief`s
    broad smiles to see his baby getting well. About the
    3rd week,he did not come. We heard that chief was
    sick. We arranged for a trip to the village. Reaching
    Migtulod, we learned that the chief has not taken food
    nor water for 3 days already. We were in the
    missionaries` cottage. We sent for him. When he
    learned that the baby is home he managed to walk to
    the cottage. Helped by the missionary cross a
    stream,he was afraid to look at the water. I suspected
    for rabies. When he reached the cottage he said, “my
    boy,good you came.’ But he kept a distance from the
    baby. We gave him soup but he did not take it. And he
    said ma`am,and sir, i feel that i can`t make it
    anymore. I won`t stay long. And whenever i go, would
    you please take my 3 more boys? I know they will have
    a bright future with you. We were speechless! I looked
    into the eyes of my husband,he looked into mine as if
    to say,” how can we ever feed these many mouths, and
    clothe them and educate them? We wre not able to
    answer his request. We rushed him to the hospital, but
    it was too late. He died there of rabies.
    The SULADS missionaries with my husband helped bury
    him while in their village while i attended to the
    baby. After 2 days, the boys, Shad`s elder brothers
    came to our door. Now we have four. The eldest and
    second are now in the 5th grade, the third in the 2nd
    grade and Shad in kinder-1, all in MVC Faith Elem.
    School.
    One Sabbath we went to visit Migtulod Mission School
    and Shad hiked with us fron MVC. We went straight to
    his quackdoctor grandmother`s. Shad entertained her
    with songs he learned from Kinder school, recited
    poems and memory verses, and the grandmother just
    cried for joy. She kept on hugging and kissing Shad as
    her tears kept coming. And she said, “I can`t believe
    it” Still choked with tears she said, ” I`m happy that
    you took him for your own. He should have been dead
    when he was still a baby.” And now, she continued,
    “because you are the parents of my grandchildren,
    Iconsider you Sarah and Daryl my very own Children.
    She kissed me and my husband. We invited her to
    Sabbath School, and for the first time she came and
    Shad held her hand going to the mission school
    building where we were holding Sabbath services.
    After the service we walked with Shad around the
    village and he saw some mothers working. Maybe curious
    why they are working on a Sabbath day not like in MVC,
    he asked one mother as any talkative boy does,”auntie,
    why don`t you come to our Sabbath School? Is it
    because you don`t have a church here?” Yes Shad his
    aunt said. We`re waiting for a church built here and
    all of us wiil start attending Sabbath School. I`m
    glad that Shad is now starting to shine.

    SULADS today has put up a high school
    for the Manobos of Bukidnon. A hundred hectar
    agricultural land is now going on for the big project.
    You too can be our partner to train these young
    people for the Lord and prapare them to reach more
    the unreached tribal groups of Mindanao.

  10. suzydmd says:

    i didn’t fast the whole day without complaining!! how sad is that?! “do everything without complaining or arguing” not my best day! but i appreciate that because of this day’s FEAST, i was immediately aware of my complaining and quickly looked for the blessing. i was challenged to call an encourage someone who had criticized me–that was a blessing also. and i am eternally grateful that HE loves me just the way i am! i went out tonight to look at the stars and feel a little closer to my dad, and even though it was cloudy, i remember his example of “shining like the stars” and tonight, Father i pray to be your child, to shine like the stars so my family and those i know will see your light and want YOU more than anything! amen

Leave a Reply

