Day 35: Don’t Put Off Tomorrow, What You Can Do Today. . .

ProcrastinationDefined

F=Fast from procrastination

E=Encourage someone you’ve been wanting to encourage for a long time

A=Admit to putting off things that God would have you to do

S=(Scripture) Proverbs 6:6; Proverbs 6:9-11; Proverbs 13:4

T=Trust God to prioritize your day

The following are pretty strong passages – – – For myself, I can be a very good procrastinator – this was a reminder to seek God to prioritize my day and time.

Go to the ant, O lazy person. Watch and think about her ways, and be wise. (Prov. 6:6; New Life Version)

How long will you lie there doing nothing at all? When are you going to get up and stop sleeping? Sleep a little. Doze a little. Fold your hands and twiddle your thumbs. Suddenly, everything is gone, as though it had been taken by an armed robber. (Prov. 6:9-11; Contemporary English Version)

The soul of the lazy person has strong desires but gets nothing, but the soul of the one who does his best gets more than he needs. (Prov. 13:4; New Life Version)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 35: Don’t Put Off Tomorrow, What You Can Do Today. . .

  1. aamphd says:

    I recently saw an ad that was so relevant. There were two guys talking about their taxes, while they had a smaller man on their backs. I feel that with the pending April 15 government deadline. What a tremendous stressor procrastination can produce!

  2. aamphd says:

    Dear GOD help me to give order to my life. I don’t want to be busy. I wish to be about Your priorities. I don’t want to simply run from fire to fire, putting out crisis. Help me to move to a deeper way of living. Amen.

  3. manny says:

    Lord, as i close out the day and reflect on this FEAST, i am reminded of my slothfulness. i am reminded that of how i like to put things off till the very last and often at the expense of You and my family. oh God, help my get a handle on things. thank you for Sabbath where i can find rest in You and recharge me batteries. oh that i can feast in Your presence this day!

  4. Javier says:

    Though i’m coming back to this blog a bit late im glad i did…i know that i at times could have been King of procrastination…yet i truly desire to be more and more like Jesus who never procrastinated anything…

    Yet we must truly be in tune and connected with Jesus because…could it be that God sometimes would have us procrastinate on certain things…maybe we don’t have to use the word ‘procrastinate’ in this sense…but sometimes the one thing that we feel we reallly have to do is possibly the one thing God doesn’t want us to do…

    In order to understand the difference God please keep me close to you…let me never procrastinate on coming to you…though i know i have…

  5. suzydmd says:

    When I read today’s FEAST to my hubby, he said, “please! what do you possibly procrastinate about”. remember me? i’m the “Martha”–doing,doing,doing! but i’m very sure i have procrastinated about one very important thing–my health! if indeed my body is a temple, it’s time I started treating it like one. I recently started excercising after a two year “break” and I will use today’s FEAST as a reminder to continue to “get off my duff” and take care of my body!

  6. aamphd says:

    God, don’t let my “doing” get in the way of my “being.” I’ve got to join Suzy and make time to care for Your temple. Thanks for the inspiration Suzy!

  7. Alberto Mares says:

    wow!! Very powerful and blunt verses!! Love it!!

  8. Strange how this comes to me on the fourth consecutive snow day in Texas. GOD is full of wisdom, but He also has a sense of humor.

  9. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Oh Lord, help me overcome my weakness…procrastination is my very big struggle…I really need your help to overcome this…Thank you Lord for reminding me through this message today. Please hear my humble prayer and save me. Amen.

  10. suzydmd says:

    I still have certain areas of my life where I procrastinate. I am happy that God convicted me last time I participated I’m this FEAST to make my health a priority. 40 lbs lighter, I still have much work to do–but it seems I have let hoer things go by the wayside!! So I will use this encouragement today to ask Go how to make room for HIS priorities for me!! I will always find things to keep me “busy”. It’s my prayer that my day be less crowded with my list and more full of His plan! I was at a conference recently that challenged me to set up my “tent of meeting” with God to meet him each day! This is my first priority

Leave a Reply

