Day 36: I Belong and am Completely Accepted

accepted

We looked briefly to these statements several weeks ago (Day 1), but it bears meditating on again and again. One of the core needs we have as humans is to be accepted and to belong. It is in a relationship with Christ that we find true acceptance and belonging. Enjoy the following thoughts and promises.

I Am Accepted

1. I am a child of God.

But to all who believed him and accepted him, he gave the right to become children of God.  They are reborn—not with a physical birth resulting from human passion or plan, but a birth that comes from God. (John 1:12-13; New Living Translation)

2. I am Jesus’ chosen friend.

I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know what his master is doing. But I call you friends, because I have made known to you everything I heard from my Father. (John 15:15; New Century Version)

3. I am holy and acceptable to God.

Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us. (Romans 5:1; New Living Translation)

4. The Lord lives in me.

Do you not know that you are a house of God and that the Holy Spirit lives in you? (1 Cor. 3:16; New Life Version)

5. I belong to God.

. . . now you belong to God. You do not belong to yourselves. God bought you with a great price. So honor God with your body. You belong to Him. (1 Cor. 6:19-20; New Life Version)

6. I am a part of Christ’s body.

You are Christ’s body—that’s who you are! You must never forget this. Only as you accept your part of that body does your “part” mean anything. (1 Cor. 12:27-28; Message Bible)

7. He had me in mind as He laid down the foundations of this world.

Long before he laid down earth’s foundations, he had us in mind, had settled on us as the focus of his love, to be made whole and holy by his love. Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!) He wanted us to enter into the celebration of his lavish gift-giving by the hand of his beloved Son. (Eph. 1:5-6; Message Bible)

8. I am free and forgiven.

The Son paid for our sins,and in him we have forgiveness. (Col. 1:14; New Century Version)

9. I am complete in Christ.

When you have Christ, you are complete. He is the head over all leaders and powers. (Col. 2:10; New Life Version)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, IGNITION Easter, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Day 36: I Belong and am Completely Accepted

  1. aamphd says:

    What a wonderful creed of identity! Thank you Carolyn for such a succinct and solid reminder of where we belong and to Whom. I am coming to the reality that our days for this season of feasting is coming to a close, and I want to say thank you for your ministry and your willingness to lead us through this time of prayer and devotion.

  2. manny says:

    i started reading and i couldn’t get past the first thought — “but to all who believed Him and accepted Him, He gave the right to become children of God.” it made me think about my knowledge of Jesus. in fact, it brought up questions. is my knowledge of Him born of my own internal spiritual perception or is it based on what i learned from others? what do i have in my life that connects me with Jesus as my personal Savior? oh but i was reminded as i read further down that He calls me His friend! WOW! our friendship is based on a new life He bestows. i’m thankful that i can be part of His body. thank you for this reminder, carolyn!

  3. carolynmacomber says:

    Allan, The thanks is all mine. Initiating the FEAST after I had sworn I would not use it again – has allowed me to work through my fears and come out of it a different person. Thank you for your prayers. I myself have learned more about the things that control me – and the things I want to “not get so busy I forget” – such as making time each day to encourage others. I have also been reminded that God is in control and He is my security. So the thanks for this opportunity is all mine.

  4. Michael Young says:

    I really appreciate this blog, I personally feel if we all understood this concept we would not stress out about a lot of things in our personal life that we continually stress out about. Many times we try to use materialistic things to make ourselves become something that we feel if we become we will be exactly the person we are wanting to be. What we all need to understand is that anything we try to use will all pass away except for the Lord, He is the only element we can use to define us, because just like this blog says that we are all bought at a price. I like the promise in Revelation 2: 17 where its says that we will be given a new name. That to me is an awesome promise because no one can change our name engraved on this stone and that’s where we can find our identity.

  5. Javier says:

    There is no doubt that we live in a time more than any other…in which people are trying or continuing to find their identitly…yet they are obviously looking in all the wrong places…some though lets face it are happy with how they are identified…Doctor Smith, Counselor/Lawyer Gonzalez…Professor Lee (trying to diversify here with last names:-)

    We must be real some of us want to be identified by something…how many young men do I know would love to be identified as a professional athlete…or the guy or girl who got to date 25 dazzling human specimens on the Batchelor…

    we want identity but where is Jesus?…yet it seems that when death is hovering over anyone…many then want to be identified with Jesus…hmmm i wonder…i truly wonder…what is it that i wonder? well i could only speak for myself here but do i enjoy being identfied more for what i do (my job) or for who I know (JESUS)!

    God help me to always understand that the only person that i truly should want to be identified by or with and first and foremost is YOU LORD!!

  6. suzydmd says:

    Well, it should be no surprise to me that as this FEAST has continued, the assaults from darkness have grown! So reading this great reminder of who I am and who bought me is sooo encouraging! Thank you, Father that I am yours and in You I have refuge. Thank you for the strength to face each day.

  7. aamphd says:

    I the whirlwind that has been my life as of late, I needed to be reminded to whom I belong. Thanks dear Jesus for refreshing my embrace of my identity in YOU!

  8. “Long, long ago he decided to adopt us into his family through Jesus Christ. (What pleasure he took in planning this!) He wanted us to enter into the celebration of his lavish gift-giving by the hand of his beloved Son.”

    Lord, thank you so much for planning out my adoption. Thank you for making every effort to integrate me into Your family. May I realize this is not a dream or a lie, that my eternal reality is the one You have fashioned for me. Help me to enter into the celebration and embrace Your Gift with arms wide open. Amen.

  9. Marivic D. McFall says:

    When you have Christ, you are complete. He is the head over all leaders and powers. (Col. 2:10; New Life Version)
    I am so blessed of today’s message…I became incomplete in many circumstances but with Jesus Christ you made me complete…Forgive me O Lord. for today, I woke up very late and forget about to do first my devotional…I am empty but you filled me. I am weak but you made me strong. I love this old song, “I’m so glad I’m a part of the family of God. I’ve been washed in the fountain, cleansed by His blood.” Thank you Lord for your constant love. Amen.

  10. suzydmd says:

    I know it’s more than coincidence that the same day last year in this FEAST I was noticing the enemy was “on me”!! I have felt the same this week. And so I really enjoyed this day of affirmation!! Thank you for this encouragement!!

Leave a Reply

