Day 37: They Deserted Him and Fled

These last few days of the FEAST we will move away from specific statements that relate to the acronym. Instead we will keep certain elements of the FEAST such as confession, thanksgiving, and scripture references. The following ideas are ways you can incorporate parts of the FEAST into the future and your daily devotions.

1.) Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any sin in your life and then confess it to the Lord – if you need to make something right with someone do so today.

2.) [Scripture: Matthew 26:47-56 – New Living Translation]

Jesus Arrested_TIF

And even as Jesus said this, Judas, one of the twelve disciples, arrived with a crowd of men armed with swords and clubs. They had been sent by the leading priests and elders of the people. The traitor, Judas, had given them a prearranged signal: “You will know which one to arrest when I greet him with a kiss.” So Judas came straight to Jesus. “Greetings, Rabbi!” he exclaimed and gave him the kiss. Jesus said, “My friend, go ahead and do what you have come for.” Then the others grabbed Jesus and arrested him. But one of the men with Jesus pulled out his sword and struck the high priest’s slave, slashing off his ear. “Put away your sword,” Jesus told him. “Those who use the sword will die by the sword. Don’t you realize that I could ask my Father for thousandsof angels to protect us, and he would send them instantly? But if I did, how would the Scriptures be fulfilled that describe what must happen now?” Then Jesus said to the crowd, “Am I some dangerous revolutionary, that you come with swords and clubs to arrest me? Why didn’t you arrest me in the Temple? I was there teaching every day. But this is all happening to fulfill the words of the prophets as recorded in the Scriptures.” At that point, all the disciples deserted him and fled.

3.) What words stand out in this scripture text? What does God want you to hear? Feel free to write God a question about this particular reading.

4.) Have you ever felt betrayed or abandoned? Ask God to heal that pain and choose to forgive the one who betrayed you.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, IGNITION Easter, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 37: They Deserted Him and Fled

  1. aamphd says:

    Lord, each day I struggle with my betrayal of you in my behaviors, thoughts, and omissions. Too often, I have allowed my ambition and self-centeredness be the motivation for my life. Even my altruistic endeavors have often been to promote my status in the eyes of others.

    This passage reminds me of how hurtful abandonment is, and I am sorry. Because in myself, I have no resource for virtue, I surrender to You and ask that instill a dosage of loyalty, courage, and faithfulness. Infuse into my life Your love. Pour into my soul Your grace.

    Today I ask that You help me flee sin. Create in me Your heart. I am sorry for my betrayal of You through the everyday neglect and willful sin in my life.

    Help me become more like You, because You are the only one Who can.
    Amen.

  2. manny says:

    oh God, you know i’ve abandoned you many times through my thoughts, words, and actions. it’s a daily battle, but Lord i am thankful that You’re there for me – a true Friend! forgive me for turning my back on you.

    Lord i don’t want to be a judas. i don’t want to come to you with a front and give You my best “Greetings Rabbi!” as if all is well. I yearn to be genuine and i echo the words of my brother above, infuse me, fill me, let me cup run over with loyalty, courage and faithfulness! You are the everlasting God and i know You will left me up on wings like eagles!

  3. Michael Young says:

    Lord please help me to accept myself for who I am and not listen to what people in this world try to say that If I become a certain person I will become worth more. Lord pleases help me to remember that no matter what happens I never have to feel lonely and abandoned because you are there with me. Please help me to have the strength to forgive others because it’s not always very easy for me to do. Please help me not to see anything as more important than you. Lord please help me to remember that you are the only way to happiness. Please help me not to try to find my happiness in any other place but you. Lord please remind me any time I begin to grow bitter because things are not going my way that it is all for the good, because you are in control.

  4. Javier says:

    God in the name of Jesus forgive me for what you have revealed to me and I praise you because you give me victory! Lord I read this passage and I know that I have been Judas many times….He was one of the twelve…he had walked with you for three years and yet his heart was unconverted…

    Lord I don’t just want to be someone who people think is walking with you but doesn’t truly even know you for who you really are…

    Lord i ask you to daily convert my heart…mold me into who you want me to be that my life may truly be in you!

    Glory, honor, and praise be to your name for truly you are a loving and wonderful God!!

  5. suzydmd says:

    what stands out the most to me in this scripture is Jesus’ response, “don’t you realize i could ask my Father for a thousand angels to protect us and he would send them instantly? but if i did, how would scripture be fulfilled. . .?” the amazing power, and to NOT summon it for me! for us! amazing, in the face of betrayal!!
    i have felt betrayal, i could hardly breathe, and if i could have “summoned a thousand angels” i’m pretty sure i would have!!! what i realize more every time i think about it is how that betrayal is but a taste of what i think God must feel when i turn my back on Him!! when i play Judas’ role. . .Father, i pray for the forgiveness for those who may have betrayed me and for the grace to realize that i may be forgiven for my betrayals of you!! Thank you for NOT summoning a thousand angels that lonely bitter friday in the garden!

  6. aamphd says:

    Lord forgive me, as I betray you for so much less than 30 pieces of silver. I choose my ideologies, my preferences, even my comfort over you. I am so sorry.

  7. May my life turn back to GOD. May my actions be filled with GOD’s gracefulness. May the desires I have be honed by His love.

  8. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Oh Lord God, thank you for the experiences for this kind…You purified me. Help me not to betray you and deny you. Thank you also for your healing power. With those experiences you make me see you more and grow. Make me to be a channel of blessings to others. Amen

  9. suzydmd says:

    As I read these scriptures and the previous posts, I feel so many similar sentiments. Father, forgive me for denying you like Peter–for betraying you! Thank you again for NOT summoning the angels and enduring far more than you ever ask from any of us, so we could live FREE in You!! May I have courage to stand for YOU!

Leave a Reply

