Day 39: Truly, He Finished It – For Us

ItIsFinished

1.) Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any sin and then confess it to the Lord – if you need to make something right with someone – do so today.

2.) [Scripture: Matthew 27:35-39, 45-54; Contemporary English Version]

The soldiers nailed Jesus to a cross and gambled to see who would get his clothes. Then they sat down to guard him. Above his head they put a sign that told why he was nailed there. It read, “This is Jesus, the King of the Jews.” The soldiers also nailed two criminals on crosses, one to the right of Jesus and the other to his left. People who passed by said terrible things about Jesus.

At noon the sky turned dark and stayed that way until three o’clock. Then about that time Jesus shouted, “Eli, Eli, lema sabachthani?” which means, “My God, my God, why have you deserted me?” Some of the people standing there heard Jesus and said, “He’s calling for Elijah.” One of them at once ran and grabbed a sponge. He soaked it in wine, then put it on a stick and held it up to Jesus. Others said, “Wait! Let’s see if Elijah will come and save him.” Once again Jesus shouted, and then he died. At once the curtain in the temple was torn in two from top to bottom. The earth shook, and rocks split apart. Graves opened, and many of God’s people were raised to life. Then after Jesus had risen to life, they came out of their graves and went into the holy city, where they were seen by many people. The officer and the soldiers guarding Jesus felt the earthquake and saw everything else that happened. They were frightened and said, “This man really was God’s Son!”

3.) What would it feel like to actually be a person in the crowd? What can you learn from this passage that might help you with an issue that you might be facing today?

4.) Ask the Holy Spirit to bring someone into your day that you might encourage and support.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, IGNITION Easter, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 39: Truly, He Finished It – For Us

  1. aamphd says:

    There are places in my life where what GOD says is “finished,” I retain as “unfinished business.” My faith in GOD’s supernatural ability to forgive, has at times fallen short in my practice of being able to forgive myself. The issue I am facing is how unforgiving and unfinishing the human spirit can be. Particularly my own.

    So I am comforted that the Holy Spirit doesn’t operate based on human devices. I long to be set free from my unforgiveness, not only of others, but also of myself. Do I believe Jesus when He says definitively, “It is finished!”?

    Oh GOD, rescue me from my own demons, the persecution of my own unbelief of Your forgiving power in my life. Release me to a new dimension of spiritual freedom. I claim You as my Redeemer, not myself.

    May what You finished, start a new creation in me. Amen.

  2. Michael Young says:

    I personally don’t know how I would feel if I were someone in the crowd if my perspective on Jesus death were different at the time. Today my perspective on Jesus death on the cross is definatley different because I believe my sin is what put Him on the cross, and I believe we were all on Jesus mind when He was hanging on the cross to die for our sins. I personally realize this. I know God is a God of love and He is my reason for being happy today, I don’t think I can find any other reason for being happy today if it weren’t for Jesus, because He is the only reason there is meaning to my life today. I recently confessed all of my sins to God and trying to live for Him, because that is the only way I will be eternally happy. I believe God wants to handle our burdens for us.

  3. aamphd says:

    Dear Jesus, may You be honored today and in everyday for what You finished on the cross. May this day, and everyday reflect what You’ve started…in me. Amen.

  4. suzydmd says:

    So hard to imagine the utter darkness Jesus felt when he–for the first time–felt total separation from the Father!! Saying, “my God why have you forsaken me?” I’m sure the darkness the crowd saw was but a taste of what He felt! And His witness was so pure that one of the criminals and the head of the roman guard were convicted in His darkest hour–wow!!! Father may I live with the grace of your sacrifice and share it with anyone who doesn’t know this unspeakable gift!! Now I’m hearing the words to the spiritual, “the blood”🙂

  5. I don’t completely understand it. But you can sense something supernatural is afoot. Whether in the crowd on that 1st century day or in the church in the 21st century, some of this is still a complete mystery. But it is nevertheless amazing…grace.

  6. Marivic D. McFall says:

    God will finish all the mess in this world. We have the victory through Jesus Christ. “It is Finished” those were the last words Jesus spoke. The song goes “The battle is over, the victory is won.” Our blessed hope is to be with Jesus. Amen

  7. suzydmd says:

    Everytime I imagine those dark hours that Friday, I am filled with awe. I know how cranky I can get when I’m hurting, yet His heart remained completely pure in the face of total separation from God and unimaginable pain. Father, reveal all unconfessed sin in my life: pride, anger–I don’t know what I would have done in that crowd. But I pray to live out that grace. Supernatural grace indeed.

Leave a Reply

