Day 40: Some Held Back – Not Sure About Risking Themselves Totally

1.) Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal any sin that needs to be confessed.

2.) [Scripture: Matthew 28:1-10, 16-20; Message Bible]

After the Sabbath, as the first light of the new week dawned, Mary Magdalene and the other Mary came to keep vigil at the tomb. Suddenly the earth reeled and rocked under their feet as God’s angel came down from heaven, came right up to where they were standing. He rolled back the stone and then sat on it. Shafts of lightning blazed from him. His garments shimmered snow-white. The guards at the tomb were scared to death. They were so frightened, they couldn’t move.

empty-tomb

The angel spoke to the women: “There is nothing to fear here. I know you’re looking for Jesus, the One they nailed to the cross. He is not here. He was raised, just as he said. Come and look at the place where he was placed. “Now, get on your way quickly and tell his disciples, ‘He is risen from the dead. He is going on ahead of you to Galilee. You will see him there.’ That’s the message.”

The women, deep in wonder and full of joy, lost no time in leaving the tomb. They ran to tell the disciples. Then Jesus met them, stopping them in their tracks. “Good morning!” he said. They fell to their knees, embraced his feet, and worshiped him. Jesus said, “You’re holding on to me for dear life! Don’t be frightened like that. Go tell my brothers that they are to go to Galilee, and that I’ll meet them there.”

Meanwhile, the eleven disciples were on their way to Galilee, headed for the mountain Jesus had set for their reunion. The moment they saw him they worshiped him. Some, though, held back, not sure about worship, about risking themselves totally. Jesus, undeterred, went right ahead and gave his charge: “God authorized and commanded me to commission you: Go out and train everyone you meet, far and near, in this way of life, marking them by baptism in the threefold name: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Then instruct them in the practice of all I have commanded you. I’ll be with you as you do this, day after day after day, right up to the end of the age.”

3.) What might still be holding you back from risking yourself totally for God? What will you do to continue the discipleship process in your own life?

4.) Who will you uplift today – Who will you encourage and support? How will you allow the Holy Spirit to work through you today?

These 40 days have been an interesting journey for me. Thank you for joining this FEAST. I have personally grown, and worshiped, and wrestled. It is indeed a journey – thank you for traveling it with me.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, IGNITION Easter, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Day 40: Some Held Back – Not Sure About Risking Themselves Totally

  1. aamphd says:

    Thank you for taking the risk of being obedient to Jesus. In many ways today can be a rebirthday for all of us. Thanks for sharing your gifts with us and with GOD. May GOD grant you a special blessing today, rewarding your faithfulness. Don’t blow out your candle, let it shine!

  2. Zane says:

    Happy Birthday, Carolyn! Thanks for taking the time and consistent effort to keep us spiritually fed on-line. =)

  3. lisahope says:

    happy birthday, carolyn! may God continue to pour Himself into your life in deeper and more intimate ways in the coming year. thanks for giving and risking yourself for others on this journey we share!

  4. Tara VinCross says:

    Yes, Lord. I pray that we will loose no time in sharing the joy that you bring to our lives!

    Happy Birthday Carolyn! I am so grateful for this spiritual journey that you have led us on. There have been many days when its been right on with what God has been teaching me – thank you! I affirm, God is using you.

  5. carolynmacomber says:

    Thanks everyone – for all the good wishes and kind comments for my birthday!! You are my fellow travelers and I value your friendship, thoughts and spiritual encouragement. It is good to be traveling this road together!

    For those who might be curious – I spent my birthday eating pizza, ice-cream, and watching Mr. Magorium’s Emporium – a childlike movie. Kinda fun. And tonight, day after b-day, I had fun spending it with some girlfriend’s – so my birthday was two days long. Think next year I’ll shoot for a three day event. 🙂

    Thank you again for the encouragement and warm wishes – I look forward when we can all get together again – like at Dallas.

  6. aamphd says:

    Let’s not hold back.

  7. aamphd says:

    May the first light of this new week see us claim the hope of a risen Savior. May we move forward from the tomb with confidence. May we not stand around gazing into the sky nor stunned by the fulfillment of what was written. May we be transformed and determined to share the Christ through our lives, anticipating His soon return.

  8. suzydmd says:

    Yes!! May we continue to be transformed by a risen ALIVE savior!! Thank you, Allan for introducing me to this blog. May you and your family be blessed and find refuge in this awesome Father we share!!

  9. It’s time to take the risk.

  10. Marivic D. McFall says:

    I thank the Lord for today’s message. not to held back but to give my total surrender to you. To serve you without any doubts.
    I am thankful for this Spiritual Feast. I am filled and so blessed. This is my first time to join this kind. I would love to do it over and over again.
    I Glorify You Oh Lord in my heart. Amen.

  11. Lord GOD, foster a holy recklessness in us. May I dare to be a disciple, immediately falling to Your feet in worship. May the truth of Your being ever present with me radically change my journey. May my life be for Your fame. Amen.

  12. suzydmd says:

    I can sooo relate to that phrase, “some held back, not sure about risking themselves fully.” However, I am more convinced than ever that I must go “all in”!!! Somehow I’m afraid of what that might look like for my life–what I might really have to relinquish. Indeed, Carolyn, wrestled is a good word for it. I feel this whole FEAST has been building to this day, am I willing to go all in??!! Father, I pray for the courage I lack to take the risk, to go all in, like the book Wild Goose Chase. I look forward to the adventure You want my life to be.

Leave a Reply

