Experiencing GOD: Directions when LOST

I’m the type of guy, who likes to know where he’s going. I get all jazzed when mapquest or google maps give me every single turn and distance, getting me from here to there. I like having a clear sense of direction and knowing what to expect. Give me the big picture and then I’ll sign on. I like having the answers before the quiz. I like to know what’s up ahead.

So you can probably predict that I don’t like being lost, I’m not big on suspense, and I’m not much for asking for directions. An example of this would be my complete frustration and exasperation with the show LOST, with it’s characteristic lack of coherent direction, absence of closure, and the endless questions that no one seems to mind are left unanswered. Flusters me to no end!

When Experiencing GOD asked the question “When you come to the Lord Jesus to seek His will for your life…” Clearly my response was that I typically want the Who-What-When-Where-How-How Much-Why all spelled out in detail, along with what the outcome will be. Doesn’t everyone?

In John 14:6, Jesus says, “I am the way, the truth, and the life,” and in reference, Experiencing GOD suggests that Jesus is my “Map.” Further, Blackaby says that the way Jesus gives me direction requires me to follow Him one day at a time.

Clearly the amount of trust that requires is challenging. Am I ready to trust GOD enough to relinquish navigating my own life? Especially when I feel lost, am I willing to trust that GOD knows where He’s going? Am I willing to turn over my control and let Jesus be my Way, relinquishing any other road map for my life?

Blackaby talks about driving with a farmer to the farmer’s home, “Because there was more than one way to get to his house, he (the farmer) could have taken me any way he wanted to. You see he was my map. What did I have to do? I simply had to listen to him and do what he said. . . He took me a way I had never been and could not have discovered on my own. I could never retrace that route by myself. The farmer was my map; he knew the way.”

Today I am challenged with this statement:

Jesus is my Way. I don’t need any other road map.

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Experiencing GOD: Directions when LOST

  1. aamphd says:

    Find context for this blog @
    Experiencing GOD [1998] book – Chapters 1-3
    Experiencing GOD [2007] workbook – Unit 1

  2. lisahope says:

    i love the illustration of the farmer giving directions and actually being the map. i’ve never thought about life with God being like that, but what a great way to live life.

    i can really resonate with the desire to know where i’m going. i like maps. i read maps well, defying the “women can’t read maps” stereotype (which i like as well… but i digress). recently, though, i had a new experience of driving with a very efficient “co-pilot.”

    my friend, elisabeth, and i were exploring in the seattle, portland, and vancouver, bc, areas. she used to live in vancouver, but i had never been there. elisabeth, also being a stereotype-defying young woman, offered to be in charge of the map and direct wherever we needed to go since i was the designated driver of the rental vehicle. typically, when i’m someplace i’ve never been, i want to see the map and have at least an idea of where we are going, so at first i wasn’t too sure about the plan. i quickly learned to trust her guidance, however. in fact, it didn’t take long at all to relax and just enjoy driving, knowing that elisabeth would inform me of any turns or specific roads i needed to know about.

    elisabeth was my map… just like the farmer was the map… just like God’s my map… now to just relax knowing He’s going to more-than-competently guide me through every intersection of life….

  3. Aristede Dukes says:

    I love the last two posts. It was like God was telling you guys to write these things. Sometimes it is quite a while between my opportunities to check the blog, so even my checking it tonight is by the grace of God. It makes me feel good that I am not the only one who has trouble totally relinquishing my life and direction to Jesus. I am such a control freak, and I know as long as I don’t give up control I will never get to the destination where I truely want to be. I love these illustrations, thank you so much.
    Dear Lord
    Please come into each of our lives and navigate. Take us to the places here on earth where we can serve you best! Ultimately, Lord lead us all to the foot of your throne for eternity! Amen.

  4. aamphd says:

    Dear GOD,
    Today is a new day in you. I am eager for the adventure but always so unsure of how willing I am to live with the suspense of what you have in store. Most days I revert to the illusion of control over my own life, trying to be the designer of my own destiny.

    Today is a new day, Jesus, so I’m asking to You to be my Map. Be the One to direct my path. Like Aristede, Lisa, and many other GODfollowers, I’m listening for your direction and excited for the adventure in store. Amen.

  5. elisa says:

    I wonder why we all feel the need to “order” and “control” the direction and steps of our lives? In the past 6 months or so I have been diligently surrendering this portion of my psyche to God. There have been so many details to figure out as I’m moving my life to another country and normally I jump at the chance to organize each decision and figure out what the next five things to do will be. Although I’ve continued to pray the prayer to surrender my plans and just trust – I find that I can’t just stop surrendering. I’m not at certain point where I can say, “ok – this is it – I’m good now and can do it on my own.”

    In John 14 where Allan quoted, Jesus had just re-assured the disciples that he was preparing a place for them in his Father’s house (v. 1-4) but in v. 4 he said “You know the way to the place where I am going.” Thomas (the detail oriented planner of the group) piped up and asked directions (v.5) “Lord, we don’t know where you are going, so how can we know the way.” This challenges me beyond the illustration of a map because usually you know your destination if you have a map. In some situations in life (maybe most) I don’t even know where I’m headed!! How do I reach a point of trust when I don’t know the final destination or even the neighborhood it’s in?

    Wow – Father when you call us to trust in you as the “way” that is a big calling. I admit I don’t have the knowledge and clarity to complete this task properly. I want to know the how’s and why’s and the most efficient way to get to the destination. Again this morning, I surrender this desire to you. I am faced with some big challenges and I don’t see my way through, so I trust that you will be my way. “May the works of my hands and thoughts of my heart speak of you, Jesus. ” Amen

  6. Cam says:

    I often wonder if we worry so much about where we are going that we just forget to hang out with the “farmer”. I am intrigued by a statement by Jan Johnson in “When the Soul Listens” where she asks, “If all God gave you was Himself, would you be satisfied?”.
    I have been through some times when I knew God was very near, despite tough circumstances I found myself in, and yet there was no clear direction “out” of the circumstance. It was more like David’s “be still and know that I am God” (Ps. 46:10). More and more I keep sensing that God’s direction to me is just “be”. Don’t do–don’t go–just be, with Me for awhile. As Jesus says through John so often, “Abide in Me”.
    I know there is so much work yet to do for Christ, and I see so many of us hustling around trying to “help” Jesus out with that stuff (me included) and I wonder. Are we so worried about the destination that we are forgetting to enjoy that trip with the farmer–to be in His presence–to learn how He lives–to take the direction he offers even when he says Stop–Stop striving after “everything” and let’s just hang out?

    Zephaniah 3:17 paints this amazing picture of God rejoicing over us with singing. I wonder if I slowed down my life more if the words and melody God is singing over me would be a little easier to hear? And i wonder if I would be so caught up in what God was singing to me that I truly would be satisfied with His presence and nothing else?
    It is something I’m working on. I’m guessing eternity will help with the time I need!

  7. aamphd says:

    Lisa & Aristede,
    Sometimes I find myself in the passenger seat trying to press my imaginary brake pedal. Glad to be along with you for this ride. Carpooling with GOD is the best.

    Elisa,
    I’m trusting GOD to honor your surrender to Him. May His direction be exhibited in your life in powerful ways.

    Cam,
    What a great insight. On family vacations, sometimes I get so obsessed with “making time” while on the road to get to a certain destination, that I lose out on the enjoying the trip. I definitely need to put more joy in my ride. Great thoughts.

Leave a Reply

