Experiencing GOD: Do You Love Me (Now That I Can Dance)

In Blackaby’s Experiencing GOD, he asks “Can you describe your relationship with GOD by sincerely saying, ‘I love You with all my heart’?”

And for whatever strange reason, my mind free associated back to a classic 60s song by The Contours, “Do You Love Me (Now That I Can Dance).” So as part of my devotion today I reflected on the lyrics:

You broke my heart
‘Cause I couldn’t dance
You didn’t even want me around
And now I’m back, to let you know
I can really shake ’em down

Do you love me? (I can really move)
Do you love me? (I’m in the groove)
Ah do you love? (Do you love me)
Now that I can dance (dance)

Watch me now, oh (work, work)
Ah, work it all baby (work, work)
Well, you’re drivin’ me crazy (work, work)
With a little bit of soul now (work)

I can mash-potatoe (I can mash-potatoe)
And I can do the twist (I can do the twist)
Now tell me baby (tell me baby)
Mmm, do you like it like this (do you like it like this)
Tell me (tell me)
Tell me

Do you love me? (Do you love me)
Now, do you love me? (Do you love me)
Now, do you love me? (Do you love me)
Now that I can dance (dance)

Watch me now, oh (work, work)
Ah, shake it up, shake it (work, work)
Ah, shake ’em, shake ’em down (work, work)
Ah, little bit of soul now (work)

(work, work)
Ah, shake it, shake it baby (work, work)
Ah, you’re driving me crazy (work, work)
Ah, don’t get lazy (work)

I can mash-potatoe (I can mash-potatoe)
And I can do the twist (I can do the twist)
Well now tell me baby (tell me baby)
Mmm, do you like it like this (do you like it like this)
Tell me (tell me)
Tell me

Do you love me? (Do you love me?)
Now, do you love me? (Do you love me?)
Now, do you love me? (Do you love me?)
(Now, now, now)

(work, work)
Ah, I’m working hard baby (work, work)
Well, you’re driving me crazy (work, work)
And don’t you get lazy (work)

(work, work)
Ah, hey hey baby (work, work)
Well, you’re driving me crazy (work, work)
And don’t you get lazy (work)

It struck me how much of my religious life I have spent trying to “dance” for GOD. Blackaby shares the story of a church member who stormed out after an angry outburst during a meeting. Henry asked this member if the member could describe his relationship with GOD by saying he loved GOD with all his heart. The distraught member’s response was especially poignant for me:

“Nobody has ever asked me that. No, I could not describe my relationship with GOD that way. I could say I obey Him, I serve Him, I worship Him, and I fear Him. But I cannot say I love Him.”

I’ve spent far too much energy working for GOD’s love, thinking He would “want me around” if I had the right moves.

I’ve spent far too much time uncertain and worried about GOD’s acceptance, that He would break my heart because I wasn’t obedient enough, I didn’t serve correctly, I didn’t worship right. My fear was more about terror and anxiety than honor or respect.

I’ve spent far too much time feeling separated from GOD; questioning, “Does He love me?” Spent far too much energy trying to work for His love, trying to earn it.

I agree with Blackaby, “Everything in your Christian life, everything about knowing Him and experiencing Him, everything about knowing His will depends on the quality of your love relationship with GOD. If that is not settled, nothing in your life will be right” (Blackaby, Blackaby, & King, 2007, p. 53).

I admit, I’ve had times in my life where things were far from right. I could say I serve GOD, I worship GOD, I obey GOD, I know about GOD, I fear GOD, but love?

May I ask you the question and invite you to explain your story:

Can you describe your relationship with GOD by sincerely saying, “I love You with all my heart?”

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Experiencing GOD: Do You Love Me (Now That I Can Dance)

  1. no, i can’t describe my relationship with God by sincerely saying, “I love You with all my heart.” i can more accurately describe it by saying

    “Dear God, i’m trying to love You with all my heart but every day is so different and every person in my life is so different so my thoughts on love are ever being tweaked and i keep forgetting not to let people define my love for You. but how does that work, really? and how am i supposed to love them when i’m still trying to figure out how to love You? and…”

    in short, “I’m trying”

  2. aamphd says:

    Hello Michaela,

    Thanks for your candor. It is so true, and I resonate with you that my love relationship with GOD always seems to be “in process.” But I can say that there are people who you can tell are in love with Him, and you are one of those people.

    Fascinating comment about the impact our human relationships have on our construct for a love relationship with GOD. Great thought to marinate…

  3. sandrar says:

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

  4. I love your site. 🙂 Love design!!! I just came across your blog and wanted to say that Ive really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. Sign: ndsam

  5. aamphd says:

    Sandra & Angelina,
    Thanks for surfing by. Please feel free to share what you’ve found with others.

Leave a Reply

