Are You Waiting for Me to Die Off?

When I was young, I used to hear ministry leaders make reference to how the Israelites needed to wait until a generation “died off” in order for a new generation to emerge fulfilling GOD’s purposes. I used to cheer their idea, that young people would “get their turn” once the old expired.

Now I wonder if young adults are waiting for me to keel over, to kick the bucket, to die off so that GOD can do what He’s wanting to do with a younger more “spiritual” batch.

I’m praying that I will not do to current generations what was done to me. I’m praying for my life to be a catalyst to young, energetic hearts, supporting their full embrace of leadership; their gaining momentum as a spiritual movement.

Hey young leader. Are you waiting for me to die off? If so, tell me to my face.

Be honest with me, because I don’t want to get in the way of what GOD is doing through your leadership. I want to join you in dreaming dreams and envisioning visions.

I don’t want to die, but let me–

die to self
die to power
die to let Christ live within
die to germinate a seed that bears good fruit.

Will you need to wait for us to die off?

Lord, let the answer be NO. A thousand times NO.

Young leaders, you don’t need to wait.

May I lay myself down, because I don’t want to wait any longer for GOD’s dream to come to fruition.

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Are You Waiting for Me to Die Off?

  1. Brian says:

    Allan,

    Rest assured that I pray to stand shoulder to shoulder with you in these last days. Because of your spirit, and ministry it has caused me and I’m sure many others to ask themselves, why does he have to do this work alone. You remain in my thoughts and prayers.

    Your brother in Christ,

    Brian Jones

  2. Rodlie Ortiz says:

    Hey Allan,
    I think this is a pretty brave thing to say and put out there. I’ve just been taking some baby steps in my ministry, having begun pastoring about 3 years ago. Just want to let you know that I appreciate you being willing to carry this mantle for young adults. I’ve been blessed by your leadership. As Brian said, I think we all need to stand should to shoulder together as God guides his people. I’m joining you in praying for the emerging leaders of this movement.

    -Rodlie

  3. Dillon says:

    Allan,
    We are so not waiting for you to die. Please don’t! We need to learn from your experience and wisdom. You’ve had years working at this same thing we’ve spent a few months on; you know better than us what we’re doing.
    As youth, what we want to see die is the mindset of “don’t make a fuss. don’t break with tradition. don’t do your own thing. don’t be different.”
    And believe me, that mindset is something we all struggle with, no matter what our age. It’s not so much age, time-wise, that matters; it’s maturity, spirit-wise. It’s the willingness to do whatever He calls you to do. I’ve seen this willingness in a wide range of people, all different types and ages. You sound like you have this willingness, therefore I’m proud to call you my fellow warrior in this the greatest of all battles.
    Keep challenging us to do better!
    Dillon

Leave a Reply

