GRACEfull: What If It Were Real?

Have you ever imagined heaven? What was it like to be at the cross? What happens when we pray? What is reality in the spiritual world and what if we could see tangible answers to prayer and see God physically with our eyes? Faith is an amazing thing that seems to nicely fill in the gaps where our senses limit us. But I stop and wonder how my experience would be different if the things I pray and the trite phrases I repeat were real.

I wonder if it would quench the thirst that seems to plague me for something beyond the daily grind of my life. Would I be overwhelmed or would it surprise me at all? Maybe the revelation of “tangible” Christianity is over-rated, but somehow I don’t think so. Somehow I believe the Bible where it says that we cannot imagine the things that God has prepared for us. And then I try to imagine how I would react… speechless? Jumping for joy? Cowering in fear? Lying prostrate on the ground? Singing hallelujah? And after this experience – what next?

A time ago, some friends of mine set up a prayer room for a national conference that was in town. As I was dismantling the room after the conference was over, I was struck by what someone had written. I was so moved by it, in fact, that I saved that piece of brown paper and now have it hanging on my wall. It was written next to a cross that we had hung in the prayer room. I want to share the words here but don’t be surprised by them – let them jolt you to imagine – what if all of this really was real? And then what comes next?

What if it were real and tangible to us? What if one moment we opened our eyes and our lives to the powerful Truth we know in our minds? Would we fall to our knees, gasping raw breaths into grateful lungs, clutching our Rescuer? Would we stumble blinkingly into the life of infinity and scream our claim to the divine rights we’ve cast aside? Lay hold to the land we once abdicated? Would we sweat out the blood of our fear, and then never fear again? Would we become new if we killed ourselves to get to you — to be resurrected by you? What wouldn’t we give?

Forgive me please, when we can give no more. –p.c.

Lord, show me You. Let me be astounded by You and be swept away by your grace and salvation. You have so much for me that I am just not ready to receive. Please I pray – prepare my heart to see You as You really are and to never be the same. Amen. – Elisa Brown

encounter the Word:

1In the past you were dead because you sinned and fought against God. 2You followed the ways of this world and obeyed the devil. He rules the world, and his spirit has power over everyone who doesn’t obey God. 3Once we were also ruled by the selfish desires of our bodies and minds. We had made God angry, and we were going to be punished like everyone else.

4-5But God was merciful! We were dead because of our sins, but God loved us so much that he made us alive with Christ, and God’s wonderful kindness is what saves you. 6God raised us from death to life with Christ Jesus, and he has given us a place beside Christ in heaven. 7God did this so that in the future world he could show how truly good and kind he is to us because of what Christ Jesus has done. 8You were saved by faith in God, who treats us much better than we deserve. This is God’s gift to you, and not anything you have done on your own. 9It isn’t something you have earned, so there is nothing you can brag about. 10God planned for us to do good things and to live as he has always wanted us to live. That’s why he sent Christ to make us what we are.

-Ephesians 2:1-10 [CEV]

encounter:

  • How might I prepare for an encounter with God beyond my imagination?
  • Where in my life am I pleading for God to be more real?

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in GODencounters, GRACEfull devos, iATL 2010, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

