GRACEfull: My Grace is Sufficient

I have thought through some of my experiences from Atlanta. One of the things that had the deepest affect on me during my time at GRACEfull, GODencounters Conference Atlanta was the last Saturday night meeting.  We participated in the Lord’s supper but also went through the practice of foot-washing.   It was set up, however, so that one person from each group of five ended up serving the rest of the group.

Zane, a member of our group and someone who had demonstrated the Spirit of Christ through-out our time together, served us and as I sat there allowing him to wash my feet, I was struck with the fact that I was extremely uncomfortable having someone serve me and not having the ability to serve them or make some sort of contribution.  This was very interesting to me and I was very much caught off guard with the overwhelming emotion that came along with this.

I realized that sometimes I am uncomfortable with God’s grace.  I feel I must do something to make up for my past or to earn His grace or even to pay Him back.  It is easy for me to get wrapped up in service for Him that I forget about His grace.

In a very kind and gentle way God taught me about His grace in this quiet setting.   It was in a setting where I wasn’t  doing anything, just sitting and this is exactly what God was driving home to me.  The idea that He does it all.  I do not bargain for His grace, I do not even give back to Him for what He has done.  Even the good work I do is an act of His grace working through me.  There is nothing I can ever do to pay Him back and this fact makes me love Him even more.

I was amazed in how strong God spoke to me in this moment.  It was a renewal of my realization of His love for me.

Have you experienced God’s grace?  I would love to hear from you about a moment when you understood God’s grace like never before or a moment which you experienced the love of God.  Leave a comment below and let’s hear how God is moving in our generation. Sharing our stories of Grace may renew someone else’ hope in experiencing it.

— Chris Jones

encounter the Word

“Because of the sacrifice of the Messiah, his blood poured out on the altar of the Cross, we’re a free people—free of penalties and punishments chalked up by all our misdeeds. And not just barely free, either. Abundantly free! He thought of everything, provided for everything we could possibly need, letting us in on the plans he took such delight in making. He set it all out before us in Christ, a long-range plan in which everything would be brought together and summed up in him, everything in deepest heaven, everything on planet earth.” – Ephesians 1:7-10 [Message]

encounter

  • How have you experienced GOD’s grace?
  • In what ways are you comfortable or not with receiving His grace fully?
  • If ever, have you tried to pay Him back for or earn this gift of grace? Elaborate.
  • What is the most gracious response to this gift from GOD? What is your response to GOD’s grace?
Chris Jones wants to live wholeheartedly for Jesus. He’s married to Franchesca and they have a big dog named Samson. Currently he pastors 3 small churches in the Southeastern United States.

About A Allan Martin, PhD, CFLE

Jeremiah 24/7
This entry was posted in GODencounters, GRACEfull devos, iATL 2010, IGNITION Easter, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

