Day 10: Is He trustworthy?

F=Fast from relying on your own strengths and abilities rather than on God’s. You may even want to ask someone to help you with something you need to do today.

E=Encourage your neighbor.

A=Admit you have believed that all your needs could not be totally taken care of by God.

S=(Scripture) Philippians 3:3; Philippians 1:21; Matthew 6:30-33

T=Trust and Thank God for taking care of all of your needs

We worship God through His Spirit and are proud of Jesus Christ. We have no faith in what we ourselves can do. (Philippians 3:3; New Life Version)

Through your faithful prayers and the generous response of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, everything he wants to do in and through me will be done. I can hardly wait to continue on my course. I don’t expect to be embarrassed in the least. (Philippians 1:21; Message Bible)

If God gives such attention to the appearance of wildflowers—most of which are never even seen—don’t you think he’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do his best for you? What I’m trying to do here is to get you to relax, to not be so preoccupied with getting, so you can respond to God’s giving. People who don’t know God and the way he works fuss over these things, but you know both God and how he works. Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met. (Matthew 6:30-33; Message Bible)

A worship song for you: How Great is Our God by Chris Tomlin

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Day 10: Is He trustworthy?

  1. aamphd says:

    Just this weekend I read “Me, Myself, and Bob” by Phil Vischer of VeggieTales. It was an amazing, humorous, yet humbling account of how easily one can, even in ministry, depend on their own ability and strength and lose site of GOD. Imagine doing ministry for GOD and admittedly fumbling one’s relationship with Him (That really hit home for me).

    I have great admiration for Phil because out of the devastating fall of Big Idea and all he had built up, he came up from those ashes to recognize that “God is enough.” And instead of blaming anyone for the bankruptcy and the turmoil, rather Phil admits his own responsibility and acknowledges GOD to be sovereign and ever-caring.

    Today, may I find my strength in you O GOD. May this day be for your glory. In my weakness be glorified. In my needs be glorified. May I resolve to surrender and not fight you for control of my life. May You be shown to be great in the moments that begin and end thiis day.

  2. elisa says:

    I love those verses from Matthew – put so well from the Message paraphrase…”Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions.” These words are a good reminder for me today as I begin what will most likely be a busy – at times stressful – week. But for today God has provided all (and much more) that I need. Today I choose rest in his faithfulness. Also I need to realize what is “reality” and in keeping with the matrix theme what seems to be real all around me is just a man-made creation inside the larger reality of God’s will and his master-plan.

    Father – hold me in your palm and help me not to fret or worry about your provisions. You care for the flowers and birds in such amazing ways – why do I worry about my own needs? Thank you for being by my side.

  3. Carolyn Macomber says:

    The answer is “YES”. He is trustworthy.

  4. Tara VinCross says:

    I appreciate these words from Philippians so much. I affirm, like Paul, that “I know how this is going to turn out!” Again today, I was painfully aware of the injustices in this world and my heart was moved and filled with compassion. I was dreaming of the maximum impact that could be made during my short years on this earth. Then, as I read Scripture and prayed, I realize that it is God’s mission and God’s vision to reclaim, redeem and restore humanity and this earth. As I read, I heard God’s outcry against injustice and felt God’s heart burning with love and compassion for his children, and I found myself humbled before Him. I want to do anything that will bring God glory and like David I cry out that I “may dwell in your tent forever O God” (ps. 61). I realize, though, that it’s not my battle or my vision. At the same time, I am so inspired and grateful that God invites me to be a part of His movement in this world. God, I surrender everything to you. Whatever part you want me to play in what you’re doing, let me do it. I am yours.

    “And I’m going to keep that celebration going because I know how it’s going to turn out. Through your faithful prayers and the generous response of the Spirit of Jesus Christ, everything he wants to do in and through me will be done. I can hardly wait to continue on my course. I don’t expect to be embarrassed in the least. On the contrary, everything happening to me in this jail only serves to make Christ more accurately known, regardless of whether I live or die. … Life versus even more life! I can’t lose.” Philippians 1:19-21 Message

  5. Tara VinCross says:

    http://www.godtube.com/view_video.php?viewkey=013

    This is a great song also – check it out.

  6. aamphd says:

    “Steep your life in God-reality, God-initiative, God-provisions. Don’t worry about missing out. You’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.”

    Dear God,
    Even today I have been overwhelmed by stuff You have well under control. I have bought–hook, line, and sinker–into the lie of my own capabilities. Help me to turn today, and each day over to you. Teach me to follow You instead of reminding You of what I’m doing. Foster in me a peace in Your power instead of a paranoia over abandonment and reputation. You are trustworthy, You are. Help me to be trusting, today and everyday. Steep me in the GOD-reality. Amen.

  7. suzydmd says:

    wow!! another “hit home” message!! “don’t be so preoccupied with getting so you can respond to God’s giving” i can’t admit how many timeshow many times i’ve taken things out of His hands, because God’s timing isn’t my timing (of course,) or worse, think i can add something to His plan (how arrogant!!)
    thank you, Father for taking care of ALL my daily human concerns!! over and over you have proven this to me!! may i show my spouse, my children that i really believe this by my actions.

  8. God faithfully reminds us time and time again that He has everything under control. Lord, I humble as that you will empower me to let you be God totally and completely without reervation. I celebrate not just what you can do, but who you are…I celebrate who I am able to be in adn through you and your power. Not by my might nor strength, but by your power, might, strength, and the unadulterated “thus saith the Lord”.
    He’s got the whole world in His hands…which includes you and me…
    In His hands…In His hands…How comforting…Isaiah 65:24…Before I call…

  9. Marivic D. McFall says:

    God really is trustworthy. I have no doubts on that for I have tasted it. I have the experienced living in the mission school without any food to eat, but God provided. It is like the time of Elijah and God sent a raven to feed the prophet Ilijah during the time of famine…I thank God for that experienced. The joy that can’t be compared serving in the mission school and experienced how God will sustain you. Lord, I trust in you. Amen!

  10. Dear GOD,
    Attend to me. I am not able to care for myself, although grown up and supposedly independent. My ways are not your ways, so often my endeavors fall short and leave me wanting. Attend to my hopes. Let me not give up on lofty dreams, rather help me rely on You to bring them to fruition. Attend to my fears. May my courage be built up in confidence in You, a mighty GOD. Attend to me. Today and always. Amen.

  11. suzy wilbur says:

    “don’t you think He’ll attend to you, take pride in you, do His best for you? What I’m trying to do here is get you to relax . . .you’ll find all your everyday human concerns will be met.” oh, to live in that faith!! what beautiful promises He gives us, our road map for a life free of ulcers, sleepless nights, unnecessary worry!! Yes! You are trustworthy, as you have shown me again and again! may i live in that knowing! Thank you for attending me even when i don’t notice!

Leave a comment