Day 13: We Need Each Other

n728075396_2361669_32431.jpg

F=(Fast) Skip one meal today and spend the time with God and when you feel hungry remember to pray for young adults and their faith journey.

{Some cannot miss a meal due to low blood sugar or the things on their “plate” today. If you cannot skip a meal than maybe eat a lite meal instead – one in which you leave the table a little hungry.}

E=(Encourage) Thank someone for something they have done for you.

A=Admit a tendency to think you don’t need other people.

S=(Scripture) 1 Cor. 12:21-26; Matthew 22:36-40; Romans 12:9-13

T=Thank God for the friends He has given you

The eye cannot say to the hand, “I do not need you.” Or the head cannot say to the feet, “I do not need you.” Some of the parts we think are weak and not important are very important. We take good care of and cover with clothes the parts of the body that look less important. The parts which do not look beautiful have an important work to do. The parts that can be seen do not need as much care. God has made the body so more care is given to the parts that need it most. This is so the body will not be divided into parts. All the parts care for each other. If one part of the body suffers, all the other parts suffer with it. If one part is given special care, the other parts are happy. (1 Cor. 12:21-26; New Life Version)

“Teacher, which command in God’s Law is the most important?” Jesus said, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your passion and prayer and intelligence.’ This is the most important, the first on any list. But there is a second to set alongside it: ‘Love others as well as you love yourself.’ These two commands are pegs; everything in God’s Law and the Prophets hangs from them. (Matthew 22:36-40; Message Bible)

Your love must be real. Hate what is evil, and hold on to what is good. Love each other like brothers and sisters. Give each other more honor than you want for yourselves. Do not be lazy but work hard, serving the Lord with all your heart. Be joyful because you have hope. Be patient when trouble comes, and pray at all times. Share with God’s people who need help. Bring strangers in need into your homes. (Romans 12:9-13; New Century Version)

Here is a video by one of the fastest growing churches in the United States – a song by Sanctus Real called We need each other:

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Day 13: We Need Each Other

  1. aamphd says:

    Independence is over-rated. Thanks Carolyn for today’s FEAST focus, having me meditate on the how important “Life Together” is to my spiritual growth and safety. So here’s my thank you list. Although not comprehensive, it reflects my gratitude for what others have done in my life:

    • Thanks Love for being my soul mate and soul inspiration. I marvel at your devotion to Jesus and honesty. You help me be more like Him.

    • Thanks Boo for being such a caring and compassionate daughter, ever willing to stand up for what is right and pure and noble. You help me to be a better person in addition to strive to be a better dad.

    • Thanks to Jane for the collegial affirmation and mentoring. Evidently you have tight connections with heaven, landing me and my family here in this winter wonderland. You have helped me to acclimate to the academic environment.

    • Thanks Manny & James for catching a vision for young adult ministry. There are many miles to go before we sleep, but I appreciate your willingness to travel the road less travelled. You have helped launch young adult ministry to a new level in our Division.

    • Thanks to Andy for helping me through a very difficult time of professional persecution.

    • Thanks Breakfast Club for being good friends across the miles. You have been through a lot, but never hesitated to give care to me and my family. You helped me remember the purpose of ministry amidst the politics.

    • Thanks Elisa for being an inspiration of willingness. What a remarkable thing to see GOD move in someone’s life because of obedience. You have helped me believe GODencounters can be a lifestyle.

    • Thanks GOD for being You. You are so patient with me, and I cherish your compassion. You have helped me in so many ways.

    Thank you.

  2. elisa says:

    I’ve been reflecting on this theme today thoughout my meetings and reviews and errands and commuting. I’ve been thinking about the people in my life and how much they all mean to me. There are many times when I rely on myself and have confidence in my independance and ability to do it “on my own” (afterall I AM on my own). But then I am reminded – like Allan said – independance is over-rated. When people affirm me and spend valuable time with me that means the most and I can’t even begin to think of all who have made a difference in my life and affected the DIRECTION of my life because of the words they said.

    Through all of this I’m reminded about the influence I might have on other people’s life and how I use (or don’t use) the opporunities that come along. Is my life and my relationships the kind that will make a difference to people I interact with? Am I taking the time to encourage and listen and be there for the “least of these”?

    I admit – most of the time I’m oblivious. I work in a hospital – a sanctuary of sorts to those who are going through some of the most difficult and horrible times in their lives. Yet I don’t know what to say or have the capacity to even understand their situation. More often than not I find a different route to my desk to avoid “being in the way” or possibly interacting with those who might need some encouragement. Father, forgive me for not realizing that I need them as much as they need me. Make me more aware and available to those who need the blessing of compassion in their life. Thank you for those who have modeled this for me and continue to spur me to DO MORE and consider others above myself.

  3. aamphd says:

    “Be patient when trouble comes, and pray at all times.”

    Lord GOD, thanks for helping through my trouble spots. These are coming with great frequency, and I feel myself slipping away. Opposed to the glorious trouble-free moments where I bask in my sense of self reliance and independence–these fragile moments where I find myself in a mess or in a fix…this is where I recognize I need You. I need other GODly people, I need. Help me to not only be willing to give and minister, help me also to be receptive to compassion and being ministered to. Amen.

  4. suzydmd says:

    oh, boy!! a day like today just shows how much i need YOU!! so weak of my own accord! what a glorious Savior, saving me in my weakness!! thank you for for the people you’ve put in my life who remind me i need their help and i need YOU.

  5. Today I so appreciate the support of our extended spiritual family as Dee goes in for surgery. Knowing that others are praying for her is of great comfort. Today I am reminded of how much we need the body.

  6. suzy wilbur says:

    allan, i will pray for Dee today as well!! prayer is a powerful healer!! God, i thank you for making me part of your human family–for showing me how i need others on this journey, showing me how to be there for others. it is a gift–both ways! following a weekend where my husband just buried two high school friends who gave up on this journey, i am poignantly reminded of how we need each other–how important it is to love one another. it’s so important to tell each other and more important to show each other!! it may be the only connection some get to link them to the love of a compassionate savior!
    “be joyful because you have hope. be patient when trouble comes, and pray at all times. share with God’s people who need help. . .” what a beautiful text to reflect on when i am feeling “hunger” during the fast of supper today.

  7. Marivic D. McFall says:

    I will have Dee in my special prayers for her recovery. God is there for you and your family.
    I am blessed of today’s message of how much we need each other. that I cannot live alone and be isolated. That is the most thing that I miss in the Philippines. The bonding and the help of each other. I am still in my struggle of a culture shock here. I pray to God to help me cross to this challenge and be of God’s service wherever I am.

  8. Alberto Mares says:

    I have always been the type of person to never ask for help… its not that i see it as a sign of weakness, but like the saying goes, “If you want something done right, you gotta do it yourself”… but such is not the case…

    In my spiritual walk, i have constantly depended on others to keep me motivated when things were not great and I highly appreciate my extended church family for being there during those tough times and vice versa. We need to depend on more and more on Jesus; we need to hold on to Him b/c life without Him is much more difficult… sure there are more trials, but he is molding and shaping our character into what He wants us to be…

    Lord, allow me to depend on you more and less on myself. Thank you for the messengers you have sent, on your behalf, in my path that have helped me and allow me to do the same when the situation arises… Use me for your kingdom!!

Leave a comment