Day 14: Word of God Speak; Live Between My Lips

F=Fast from reading a negative bias into things that others say or do.

E=(Encourage) Write an encouraging note to someone

A=Admit to passing negative information to others who are not part of the problem or solution

S=(Scripture) Psalms 101:5-6; Proverbs 30:10; 1 Cor. 4:12-13; Psalm 34:12-14

T=Trust God’s ways and Trust Him to help you guard your words

If anyone secretly says things against his neighbor,
I will stop him.
I will not allow people
to be proud and look down on others.

I will look for trustworthy people
so I can live with them in the land.
Only those who live innocent lives
will be my servants. (Psalms 101:5-6; New Century Version)

Do not accuse and hurt a servant before his master, lest he curse you, and you be held guilty [of adding to the burdens of the lowly]. (Proverbs 30:10; Amplified Bible)

We bless those who curse us. We are patient with those who abuse us. We appeal gently when evil things are said about us. (1 Cor. 4:12-13; New Living Translation)

Does anyone want to live a life that is long and prosperous? Then keep your tongue from speaking evil and your lips from telling lies! Turn away from evil and do good. Search for peace, and work to maintain it. (Psalm 34:12-14; New Living Translation)

Word of God Speak by Mercy Me (a worship song for your enjoyment)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, ignition. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Day 14: Word of God Speak; Live Between My Lips

  1. aamphd says:

    It doesn’t take much.

    Many a young adult has confided in me how powerful and cutting words can be. The swift destruction of demeaning words can often take years to recover from.

    May I make a request? If you are older, be wise in your words. Are you a parent? A teacher? A pastor? An elder? Be wise with your words.

    The lasting impact of your words can build the Kingdom, or cause a young one to stumble. Even fall.

    You might not think anyone is listening to you. But that is far from the truth.

    Be wise with your words. Let Life flow from your lips.

  2. suzydmd says:

    i enjoyed this FEAST–it taught me that i am most likely to assume something negative from the person who loves me most–my hubby!! How sad is that–i have some work to do there!! thank you for bringing that to my heart today, Father.
    this area of my life–gossip is something God has been working to refine in my life since high school. i still don’t always win the battle, but i’m greatful for the changes He’s made. i think with saddness of the pain i have caused with my words–the friendships that were damaged–the pain i’ve caused my husband or parents, arrrgh!! then I think of His grace shown to me, through them by their forgiveness šŸ™‚ may God continue to guard my heart and my tongue–that my words may be of encouragement to those i share life’s journey.

  3. aamphd says:

    What pain can be inflicted on myself by perpetuating negative perceptions and allow them to run wild. Lord, GOD please help me to cast out these demons of my own design. May Your Truth be the Actual I sense, may Your view of me be the identity I perceive. Thank You for reconciliation, and healing that You initiate and complete. Help me see me as You do. Amen.

  4. “If anyone secretly says things against his neighbor, I will stop him.”
    I’m praying Lord that this will include me when I am that “anyone.” Help me to be a person of Christian integrity in the way I speak of others. Help my words to be a healing salve not fiery darts. Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable to you Lord, my Strength and my Redeemer. Amen.

  5. Marivic D. McFall says:

    “Let your conversation be always full of grace, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer everyone.” Colossians 4:6. Lord, please help me to be watchful always in every word I speak and no biases. Amen!

  6. suzydmd says:

    Wow! Psalms 34:12-14 really spoke to me today! “Do you want to live a long and prosperous life? then keep your tongue from evil and your lips from speaking lies. Turn away from evil and do good. Search for peace and work to maintain it.” What a beautiful thought to live by! I am challenged and encouraged by this FEAST today. I still have so much work to do to never speak ill of others, but I am encouraged that i no longer see what my hubby says through a negative lens! that is such a blessing! I am “working to maintain peace”. Thank you God that you can help me “guard my tongue”, my heart, my thoughts.

Leave a comment