Day 17: Stop, Listen, He’s at the Door!

F=(Fast) Spend some time in solitude today (Fast from noise and the business that would keep you from “alone” time.

E=(Encourage) Provide for someone’s needs today – offer a helping hand.

A=Admit that there are times when you have been impressed by God to do something, but you did not follow through with “it” for one reason or another.

S=(Scripture) James 1:22-25; James 4:7-10

T=Thank God for His persistence and strength in using you in His work even when you are weak and do not always “follow through”.

Don’t fool yourself into thinking that you are a listener when you are anything but, letting the Word go in one ear and out the other. Act on what you hear! Those who hear and don’t act are like those who glance in the mirror, walk away, and two minutes later have no idea who they are, what they look like. But whoever catches a glimpse of the revealed counsel of God—the free life!—even out of the corner of his eye, and sticks with it, is no distracted scatterbrain but a man or woman of action. That person will find delight and affirmation in the action. (James 1:22-25; Message Bible)

So let God work his will in you. Yell a loud no to the Devil and watch him scamper. Say a quiet yes to God and he’ll be there in no time. Quit dabbling in sin. Purify your inner life. Quit playing the field. Hit bottom, and cry your eyes out. The fun and games are over. Get serious, really serious. Get down on your knees before the Master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet. (James 4:7-10; Message Bible)

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 17: Stop, Listen, He’s at the Door!

  1. aamphd says:

    Yesterday, I took my daughter Alexa shopping. Although on the surface it may not sound like a unique activity, for me it was completely inspiring.

    Alexa pulled from her purse a very lengthy shopping list. Clearly she had been looking forward to this trip for some time. On the list was a variety of clothing and personal items she wanted…to purchase for one of her classmates, an international student recently immigrated here with her parents.

    Alexa looked at a couple of blouses and noted how the colors would look wonderful on her classmate. She was diligent to pick out items that her classmate might need. Alexa has made efforts to be a friend to this classmate, although at times the classmate has been somewhat distant and unsociable. Alexa is quick to give her the benefit of a doubt, noting it must be hard to come to a new country, new language, new culture.

    When we came to the register, Alexa paid for the items. Pulling out her wallet, she gave all her money. Literally. She cashed out a gift card, handed the cashier her bills, and even dug out coins from the coin purse. So you don’t miss the impact, this was not just her “surplus” cash. Alexa doesn’t receive an allowance, so she very diligently saves her holiday/birthday gift cards, monies from relatives. She values and saves for special things she would like to get. In this case, she wanted to go shopping to give.

    Compassion does have a cost.

    Oh God, thank you for a reminder of Your Heart, that you shared with me through Alexa. Help me to honor the cost of Your compassion by being a cheerful giver. Thank you for a child who reminds me of the Kingdom. Let our lives bring You fame as a result of the graciousness by which we give. Let us give like You.

    Amen.

  2. carolynmacomber says:

    Powerful!! And a child shall lead them. Thank you for this real life example of Christ’s heart from your daughter.

  3. Tara VinCross says:

    What a beautiful story! Alexa is allowing God to work through her. What a powerful reminder.

  4. Linda says:

    I just watched the youtube link attached to Day 17. Beautiful, there is indeed power in the word of God, power in the Word of God. Yes, He is at the door, but Jesus is also the Door by which we can enter! John writes, “Then said Jesus unto them again, verily, verily, I say unto you, I am the door of the sheep… I am the door: by me if any man enters in, he shall be saved, and shall go in and out, and find pasture” (John 10:7-9).
    Thinking about doors, isn’t it wonderful that we can come to Jesus, not because of ourselves, but because Jesus stands at our heart, lovingly drawing us to Himself.

    In this time of Easter that is coming, I pray for my loved ones that they will open their heart for the Lamb that was slain, that they will see Jesus as He really is, “The LORD God, merciful and gracious, longsuffering, and abundant in goodness and truth, Keeping mercy for thousands, forgiving iniquity and transgression and sin” (Exodus 34:6, 7). That they may realize that He died for them too, “For God so loved” them…

    Blessings,
    Linda

  5. aamphd says:

    Lord,
    Help me to be like my Alexa. I need to have a heart that is giving and compassionate. Let me be like You.

  6. suzydmd says:

    “so let God work His will in you”, “quit dabbling in sin”. Thank you for the fast of “background noise”. it is amazing how uncomfortable I can be sometimes with complete silence. I pray to hear more of Your still small voice, and become more comfortable in the quiet with You.

  7. Lord, help me to follow your promptings, lending a helping hand. Too often I shirk at the inconvenience, ignore the whisper, busy myself with self-important activity. Help me hear You knocking at the door of my heart. Let my life be an open house. Amen.

  8. suzy wilbur says:

    these are powerful verses today! “purify your inner life. . . hit bottom and cry your eyes out. the fun and games are over. get serious, really serious. get down on your knees before the master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet.” and the other part of today that really has me thinking is how many times i have “hardened” my heart to the promptings to take action for someone else. i pray to be used, but do i turn a deaf ear if it isn’t “convenient”? “so let God work his will in you.” thank you for the quiet times when i can “get really serious” and let you do your work in me.

  9. Marivic D. McFall says:

    “Courage is what it takes to stand up and speak. Courage is also what it takes to sit down and listen.”
    Help me O Lord to listen to your voice that sometimes and oftentimes I am ignoring it. Let me allow you come into my heart and live. I need you.Amen!

Leave a comment