Day 18: What does love look like?

F=Fast from ignoring instructions/requirements, or adjusting them for selfish reasons.

E=(Encourage) Write someone an encouraging note today or send them an e-card.

A=Admit to withdrawing from others by short, clipped responses, or silence.

S=(Scripture) 1 John 4:17-25

T=Trust God to guide your life and heal your relationships.

God is love. When we take up permanent residence in a life of love, we live in God and God lives in us. This way, love has the run of the house, becomes at home and mature in us, so that we’re free of worry on Judgment Day—our standing in the world is identical with Christ’s. There is no room in love for fear. Well-formed love banishes fear. Since fear is crippling, a fearful life—fear of death, fear of judgment—is one not yet fully formed in love. We, though, are going to lovelove and be loved. First we were loved, now we love. He loved us first. If anyone boasts, “I love God,” and goes right on hating his brother or sister, thinking nothing of it, he is a liar. If he won’t love the person he can see, how can he love the God he can’t see? The command we have from Christ is blunt: Loving God includes loving people. You’ve got to love both. (1 John 4:17-25; Message Bible)

A Father’s love letter:

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 18: What does love look like?

  1. aamphd says:

    Dear GOD,

    Help us redeem “LOVE” from our loose use of it in language and life. Trivial and trite, we treat love with such disregard.

    Return us to Your Heart oh GOD. Send us back to Source.

    Help our hearts to beat in rhythm with your heart. Only then will there be congruence between a GOD who embodies love and His people who pour GOD-love into a love-sick world.

    May our love of people rightly reflect Your character. More than those who adore us, help us love those who don’t. Give us a safe place to share with you our real feelings about “them,” so you can empty us of our pride. Then fill us will humble love, love that recognizes Who loved first. Help us to be good with second, even last. Help us love “the others.”

    Let today find a revised wikipedia listing of LOVE because of You. Let me be a righteous reflection of You. Of LOVE.

    Amen.

  2. aamphd says:

    Dear GOD,
    Let the loves of my life know they are valued. Don’t let anything get in the way of my clearly communicating the depth of my appreciation and devotion to them. Help the message from me to be clear and pure. Let my family know that I love them so. Amen.

  3. suzydmd says:

    Thank you for your perfect love, Father! And for the promise that is can heal my relationships. What beauty to be so utterly loved.

  4. Dear GOD,
    Let Love have run of my house. May I be known as a loving person. Not flimsy love, but responsible love that sticks to it in the midst of challenges and difficulties. Love that shares joy but also accountability. May people see Love in me that resembles You. Amen.

  5. Alberto Mares says:

    This reminds me of one of my favorite verses: 1 John 4:8 & 19.. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love… We love because he first loved us.

    Keep showing us that perfect love God. Continue to work in us…

  6. Marivic D. McFall says:

    How great is your love O Lord. Let your love be seen in me.

    1 Corinthians chapter 13 – (The Message Bible)

    The Way of Love
    1. If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate. 2.If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing. 3-7.If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.

    Love never gives up.
    Love cares more for others than for self.
    Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
    Love doesn’t strut,
    Doesn’t have a swelled head,
    Doesn’t force itself on others,
    Isn’t always “me first,”
    Doesn’t fly off the handle,
    Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
    Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
    Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
    Puts up with anything,
    Trusts God always,
    Always looks for the best,
    Never looks back,
    But keeps going to the end.
    8-10.Love never dies. Inspired speech will be over some day; praying in tongues will end; understanding will reach its limit. We know only a portion of the truth, and what we say about God is always incomplete. But when the Complete arrives, our incompletes will be canceled.
    11.When I was an infant at my mother’s breast, I gurgled and cooed like any infant. When I grew up, I left those infant ways for good.
    12.We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us!
    13.But for right now, until that completeness, we have three things to do to lead us toward that consummation: Trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of the three is love.

  7. Suzydmd says:

    Thank you, Marivic for posting 1Cor. 13 from the message bible. Beautiful. I pray for a heart that loves extravagantly, without fear or reservation. I admit to withdrawing or being short with others, I admit to “bending” the rules for my benefit. I am thankful for today’s reflection on love–authentic, extravagant, selfless love. I am grateful for the examples of this love God has placed in my life. So in the end: “trust steadily in God, hope unswervingly, love extravagantly. And the best of these three is love.”

Leave a comment