Day 19: The Lord God Almighty Reigns / Agnus Dei

F=Fast from making critical statements about authority figures

E=Encourage someone in authority today

A=Admit to rebellion against God’s line of authority (government, supervisors/bosses, parents, professors, etc.)

S=(Scripture) 1 Tim. 2:1-2; Romans 13:1-2; Ephesians 6:1-4

T=Trust God to work through His lines of authority

I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone—for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness. (1 Tim. 2:1-2; New International Version)

Obey the rulers who have authority over you. Only God can give authority to anyone, and he puts these rulers in their places of power. People who oppose the authorities are opposing what God has done, and they will be punished. (Romans 13:1-2; Contemporary English Version)

Children, as Christians, obey your parents. This is the right thing to do. Respect your father and mother. This is the first Law given that had a promise. The promise is this: If you respect your father and mother, you will live a long time and your life will be full of many good things. Fathers, do not be too hard on your children so they will become angry. Teach them in their growing years with Christian teaching. (Ephesians 6:1-4; New Life Version)

A worship song – Agnus Dei – Michael W. Smith:

I am so thankful that He is Sovereign!

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 19: The Lord God Almighty Reigns / Agnus Dei

  1. Manny says:

    the feast for today is difficult to swallow. just having passed what marked the 5th “anniversary” (why do we call it that anyway?) of the war in iraq, the moral fall last week of a state governor and admissions of infidelity from his replacement. yep, those words in romans 13 are a little hard to accept: “obey rulers who have authority over you?” c’mon paul, would you really say that if you could watch the news headlines?

    i frequently receive e-mails from a former church member of mine and they are almost always the same — criticizing this person or that person in authority. i’m always leery of opening up an e-mail from said person just because of the reappearing content! at any rate, as i think about today’s feast, the complaints from this church member, and my often cynical view of government, i am thankful that there is only One that is Sovereign.

    as i read John 13 this morning, Jesus words were striking. “you address Me as ‘Teacher’ and ‘Master,’ and rightly so. that is what I am.” is Jesus my Master? what does that mean? because to have a master means that He knows me better than I know myself. it means that He is closer than a friend. it means that He searches the depths of my heart and He satisfies that which i long for. it means that He meets and solves my perplexities and problems.

    it also means that He doesn’t force Himself into my life. it seems like it would be so much easier if He would just take hold of the reigns of my life and make me do the things i want to do, but i don’t, but i want to, but i don’t — but He will not. then the irony is that sometimes i wish He would just give me some space, but He doesn’t. He’s my Master and i long for continued growth in His grace.

    Lord, in a split-second you turned saul from being a strong-willed, intense pharisee into a humble, devoted slave for You. oh, make me servant, humble and meek…may the prayer of my heart always be, make me a servant, make me a servant, make me a servant – today!

  2. aamphd says:

    Manny, what an astute reflection. I join you in a plea to GOD to make me a servant. How wonderful that He would also call me friend.

  3. aamphd says:

    In this day of new leadership, the critics have not been quelled. Even in my own spirit, I find it easy to seek out the speck in government and church leadership. Lord, help me to a voice of encouragement at best, and a prayer for leadership discernment at least. Amen.

  4. kev says:

    clearly this is a needed post, not only in my own life but the world around us. even at my church there are those that criticize the authority, but i have always taken the approach that God has set up this establishment and He asks me to obey the authority that is in place.

    in my professional life, i had a boss that would give me initiatives and objectives while going behind my back and giving them to others or trying to do them for me and putting me down behind my back… while lying about it the whole time. i was frustrated and rebellious inside towards him because his ethics were questionable at best.

    but i resigned to just be obedient in what he wanted me to do and i trusted that God would reveal him to the company of what he really was. well, after a few months he got fired because he was doing questionable things for the organization and bad-mouthing people behind their backs. God taught me that He is not only my Boss but my boss’s Boss and He will work it out.

    tough to be able to swallow in most situations, but the pill is good for us.

  5. Loren Nelson says:

    I am tired of being responsible for all the leadership that I do not agree with and don’t do things my way!!! I have left the being in charge to God. What a relief and now I can get to what God wants me to do. I can help others get closer to to Jesus! I found that I have to get to know others before we can even talk about God. Maybe its about being a follower of Christ instead of trying to make mini-mes! Thanks for looking at our leadership! They need to understand that we are all PEOPLE!

  6. Suzy Wilbur says:

    All around us the “powers that be” are in turmoil. Local government, Washington, even my childrens’ school informed us via e-mail this week that the elders terminated our headmaster as of the day of the e-mail. And as only God’s impecible timing would have it–I had to meet with my accountant today to file corporate taxes!! The IRS would be VERY easy for me to complain about!! But as I read His Word, it’s so clear that ultimately He is in charge. What a relief!! I’m getting worn out figuring out what everyone in authority “should” be doing!
    Also as I reflected today I realize the authority figure in my life that I have probably slighted the most is my mother. So I chose to call and encourage her. God, thank you for my mother and IRS–little reminders that if I can’t submit to them how can I possibly say I submit to Your plan

  7. Lord, be with our leaders, both locally and worldwide. There are tremendous challenges that need wisdom and courage, offer these resources to the women and men who take up the mantle of leadership on our behalf. Help me to build a trust relationship with our leaders so as to be of good support to them as they serve me and our communities. Amen.

  8. suzy wilbur says:

    i admit to still trying “to figure it all out” instead of acknowledging His power! i still find myself frustrated with “the powers that be”, but find i am quicker to offer a prayer for their guidance and my submission. i have found peace over the last year in my relationship with my mother–i admire her courage in her walk. i will still choose her for my “encouraging” call today, as she really needs it this week. my brother is in the hospital awaiting triple by-pass surgery tomorrow am, and her mother, 90, is in the hospital recovering from knee surgery–she is the primary support system for both.
    the text that i caught my eye today, “Fathers (mothers) do not be too hard on your children so they will become angry. Teach them in their growing years with Christian teaching”. as i raise my three precious children, may i show grace, not just be the authority figure in their life. thank you for teaching me through them, everyday!!

  9. Marivic D. McFall says:

    Teach me O Lord to be humble to pay respect to our leaders in the church and in the community. To obey my parents and above all to obey your will O Lord God Almighty. Amen!

Leave a comment