Day 20: Who are you trying to please?

F=Fast from being more concerned about pleasing people than pleasing God. (If you are faced with a choice between pleasing others or pleasing God – choose God.)

E=Encourage a family member today.

A=Admit that there have been times when you have been a people-pleaser rather than a God-pleaser.

S=(Scripture) Galatians 1:10; Hebrews 11:5; James 4:10

T=Thank God for His love and acceptance of you

I am not trying to please people. I want to please God. Do you think I am trying to please people? If I were doing that, I would not be a servant of Christ. (Galatians 1:10; Contemporary English Version)

A man cannot please God unless he has faith. Anyone who comes to God must believe that He is. That one must also know that God gives what is promised to the one who keeps on looking for Him. (Hebrews 11:6; New Life Version)

Humble yourselves before the Lord, and he will lift you up. (James 4:10; New International Version)

A heart felt worship video for today — You took the fall and thought of me, above all.

This entry was posted in 40 Days, GODencounters, Spiritual Formation. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Day 20: Who are you trying to please?

  1. Janice A. Becca says:

    Relief. I was just discussing this last night with a friend. I believe sometimes our Sabbath rest can be wiped away, because we overwhelm ourselves with doing more than God has asked us to do. Getting past people pleasing requires saying, “No.” The timing of this post is particularly encouraging for me considering this is something I regularly struggle with, and just 8 hours or so ago I decided to let go.

  2. aamphd says:

    Janice, thank for your candor and your observations. I pray that we as Adventists will more deeply enjoy being Sabbatarians. I believe GOD delights in your accepting His gift of rest and re-creation. May you find in letting go you are falling into His arms.

  3. Michael Young says:

    There is such a temptation in this world to find our self-identity in what it is that people think of us. We all like to have people think that we are great. Many ties in my ministry I feel tempted to work more on being known to be great instead of pleasing God. I have personally noticed that when I start pleasing people instead of the Lord I always fail. Since I have been given more responsibilities lately in the youth group I am working with and being a student in the seminary I have seen and learned that when you give everything to God He will promote you at the right time and help you do what you need to do in your assignment when you have turned it over to the Lord. Pleasing people will help you temporarily pleasing God will help you forever. In the book of Acts chapter 5 it talks about obeying God over man.

  4. aamphd says:

    Lord, may You be pleased with my life. May I bring You delight. Humble me today and each day that follows, and lift me from where I’ve been to where You’re going. Amen.

  5. suzydmd says:

    Thank you for reminding me who I am really here to please!!! There have certainly been times in my life when I chose to please people instead. Thank you, Father for your unconditional acceptance of me in spite of that!

  6. May You find this day pleasing in your sight oh Lord. May my actions and thoughts bring You delight. May my conduct reflect Your heart. I long to hear You say, “Well done.”

  7. Alberto Mares says:

    “It is better to trust in the Lord, than to have confidence in man.” (Psalms 118:8) What a powerful verse!! Lord, allow me to do exactly as this verse states, especially whenever i am confronted with life’s problems.

  8. Marivic D. McFall says:

    I have the tendency to make things good to please others. Remind me always Lord to please you. Above all, let me put you first in my heart. Thank you for accepting me of what I am. Amen.

  9. suzy wilbur says:

    i am soooooo grateful i read this first thing this am!! i had a long day of work and visits to my grandma at hospital and then my brother after open heart surgery today! it is sooo important to think about our intention!! i spent the first twenty years of my life well entrenched in the “pleasing others” mindset and have straddled for the past 18 the move to “pleasing God”. our upbringing lends itself to much co-dependency and worry about “what will others think/say” and needing other’s approval. but i believe our intention/heart, which is known to God, is rightfully placed when thinking of the old “WWJD” . Father, may my heart be yours, may my intention be yours.

Leave a comment